• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

dedicated pump for pumping water to res?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

smartkid

Registered
hi guys, i am completely new to watercooling and i need some help here. i am thinking of setting up a series loop as below:

res--->pump--->rad--->cpu--->nb--->gpu--->another pump--->res

i am thinking for using a dedicated pump to pump the water back to the res at the end of the loop, i will be using 2 d5 pumps. so does adding the second pump makes any difference at all to the temp? any help and advices on improving my loop is greatly appreciated.

cpu block: apogee xt
gpu block: evga gtx 470 ftw
motherboard block: x58a-ud7 block by ek
rad: 1x black ice gtx 420
rad fan: 4x 70cfm

cpu: i7 920 4.01Ghz @ 1.26v(ordered i7 980x)
gpu: nvidia c2070(pre-ordered) + evga gtx 470 ftw(waiting for water cooling)
motherboard: gigabyte i7 x58a ud7

Last edited:
the stickies did not answer my question and that's why i am asking.

First off, if you're going to run two pumps, you want them in series next to each other, not randomly before and after the res. There is absolutely no reason to put one on the intake of a reservoir.

If you're going with two pumps, I'd recommend two MCP355s over two MCP655s for your loop. You have the most restrictive radiator on the market, one of the more restrictive CPU blocks and by their very nature, MB blocks are restrictive. GPU blocks depend on the model. Head pressure is what you need with such a restrictive loop. Plus it's much easier to get one of these for using two MCP355s.

Are you absolutely positive the block you're getting fits on that tesla card? I couldn't even find one on a quick search. Be sure it does. Full coverage blocks are not forgiving even with the slightest difference in PCB design.