• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Looking for Stable X58 MB / RAM for i7 980x with OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Calirad

I have been OCing for many years, but I must say my last experience left something to be desired. It was my first NVIDIA experience ... and more than likely my last. I am about to RMA the 2nd 790i mainboard in 6 months. This one won't stablize with everything at stock settings. :bang head

Replacing these Components:
-- Intel Q9450 Yorkfield 2.66GHz (OC'd to 3.8GHz stable at 71*F)
-- EVGA nforce 790i Ultra SLI (132-CK-NF79-A1)
-- OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR3 1600 (OCZ3P1600EB4GK) x4 (I have x6)
With these Components:
-- Intel i7 980x Gulftown 3.33GHz
-- ?? Mainboard ??
-- ?? Memory ??
Keeping these Components:
-- XFX 9800 GTX Black Edition * EVGA 9800 GTX SSC
-- WD Raptor X 150GB x2 * WD Raptor X 300GB x2
-- Samsung SATA DVD-ROM * Samsung SATA LightScribe DVD Writer
-- Swiftech MCP655 x2 * Black Ice Extreme III Radiator w/6 Ultra Kaze
-- Koolance/EK NB, SB, VREG, CPU, and Video water blocks and connectors
-- ThermalTake ArmorPlus (6000BWHS) * SilverStone ZM1200M
Adding these Components:
-- Audio Card To Be Determined
-- BluRay Drive
-- Water Cooling blocks, connectors, pumps, rads, etc as needed

As such, I am hunting a mainboard for use with the i7 980x CPU. I want a stable mainboard. I want to hit 4.5-5GHz stable on water. This should be achievable with a 68*F ambient, dual 360 radiators with 3-6ea Ultra Kaze 133.6 CFM fans, dual loops, and MCP655s.

Has anyone found a stable mainboard for OCing the 980x to 4+GHz? If so, which board and which memory did you use?