• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GA-X58A-UD3R Over Clocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

maxer420

Hey first off just wanna say hi to everyone since im new to the OCForums. I just recently (Yesterday) completed a new build. Have some brief over clocking experience from the older Socket 775 and 939 but not a lot. Kinda just have some general questions on the board itself. I guess the first is in regards to the XMP on the motherboard. I noticed that in all the over clocking posts its always disabled...and i know with my board if i turn it on, it boosts my mem frequency to 1600 like it should be at....but i get a BSOD after about 10-15 mins of using my pc, with nothing else over clocked. So im assuming that it should be disabled and i should be getting to 1600mz on the ram through over clocking the ram? Hope that actualy made some sense. Also i noticed that when i truned the XMP on, it turned the over voltage lcd's on on my mother board for the ram and i think the cpu...just 1 green lcd for each...but when i turned it off the lcd's went off. So i guess the next question is should they be on or off when over clocking? Right now im sitting at 3600.03mhz on the cpu and 2880mhz on the nb (which i think seems low from other posts) Currently ive been running Prime64 on blend for 52 min and my max temp is around 76c and average across the cores is around 74c. Do these temps seem ok? Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Edit: Another quick question. Would Real Temp be the most accurate way of monitoring temps? I only ask because Real Temp puts me at a average 74c but EasyTune6 puts me at only 59c. Thanks again.

Just tweaked up my settings a bit...

***updated ***New Stable Settings

My stable 4.0Ghz settings are below:

Advanced CPU Features: