View Full Version : email spam from this forum.
markp1989
08-15-10, 07:33 PM
I just got an email saying
Subject: Hello my dear
Body:
Hello my dear
My Name is S*****a i saw your contact email at overclockers.com
and i be come interested in knowing you and build a good relationship with you,so please write me back through my email address for more detail about me and my picture as well,Remember That Love Is The most Important In Life.and distance does not matter what matters is the truth and love,
am waiting for your reply soon.
yours lovely one S*****a
any one else recieved similar emails?
One could possibly argue this as a reason they didn't want to use their edu or isp email for this site. You can make your email private though, only viewable by mods and admins. Just do that I guess, we don't really have control over who browses the site hunting for emails to spam -- I don't think OC or iNet is behind this though, just some spammers crawling the site.
markp1989
08-15-10, 07:40 PM
on second thoughts the title of this thread could of been better worded.
i expected that it was just some spam bot had scanned the forum for email addresses. i was curious how many other people had recieved similar messages
Adragontattoo
08-15-10, 07:45 PM
never have in all my years here.
I have not obtained this although like mentioned there are a few email scanners.
More then likely it will redirect you to some dating service affiliate link if you reply. Happened to me from a different iNet forum/.
petteyg359
08-15-10, 08:18 PM
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/profile.php?do=editoptions
Uncheck "receive email from other members".
Shelnutt2
08-15-10, 09:57 PM
Hey hands off! Sandra is mine!!!
(aka I got the same message too :chair:)
Jolly-Swagman
08-16-10, 03:09 AM
Just Checked my emails and yes got the exact same one from Sandra !!
Does the email say "Email from a user at OCForums" or is it just an ordinary email?
If the former, let me know the user name that sent it and I'll deal with it.
If the latter, a bot has scanned the emails from somewhere.
thideras
08-16-10, 03:14 AM
To clarify, that spammer does not have your email address. There is a form you can fill out on the user page that will email a message to you. Again, which does NOT give out your email address.
Is everyone who is affected using an @hotmail.com address or similar (i.e. MSN, Live, etc)?
From what Jolly Swagman sent me in a PM (cheers) it looks like an email sent directly to your address, which means it cant of come from the forums unless you all posted your email address in threads on the forums.
thideras
08-16-10, 03:54 AM
Do a search for your email address through the forum's search tool and Google.
Shelnutt2
08-16-10, 06:57 AM
Hey David, can you edit my email out of this (http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showpost.php?p=6334648&postcount=14) post for me?
Thanks
Hey David, can you edit my email out of this (http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showpost.php?p=6334648&postcount=14) post for me?
Thanks
Done.
If anyone else needs edits performed, shoot me a PM.
markp1989
08-16-10, 07:14 AM
I done a quick search for my email couldnt find posts with it in . It was sent to my msn address not a hotmail account just a 3rd party account that is used as my live passport
thideras
08-16-10, 08:00 AM
It was sent to my gmail account, which is in no way affiliated with this website. Did a thorough search of the website and there are no results, so they didn't get it here.
hokiealumnus
08-16-10, 09:07 AM
Were I to venture a guess, for every person here that got one of those, there are a thousand other people that got one too. Look at it this way - it's flattering we're big enough that people using the site in spam messages!
Ben, your email address is perfectly safe. No amount of hunting could dig up email addresses from the database (barring a rather good hacker). Unless it was posted somewhere in public, no one got anyone's email from this site. If you don't want to use a .edu / ISP address, you certainly don't have to. No one forces you to comply with the classified rules. It's your choice in return for access to them.
hokiealumnus
08-16-10, 12:57 PM
Folks, you may want to read through this thread (http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=651971). Long story short - it seems a fair bet the email you got was sent to the same email listed under "Instant Messaging" on this page: http://www.overclockers.com/forums/profile.php?do=editprofile .
petteyg359
08-16-10, 01:45 PM
It was sent to my gmail account, which is in no way affiliated with this website. Did a thorough search of the website and there are no results, so they didn't get it here.
Your email address is displayed if you click the MSN button in your postbit. Just delete the MSN contact and your previous post will become truthful :p
thideras
08-16-10, 01:56 PM
I honestly don't mind. My email is splattered all over the internet and my website anyway.
hokiealumnus
08-16-10, 01:59 PM
Removed image. Wouldn't want it plastered in yet another open place, even if it's in image form.
thideras
08-16-10, 02:01 PM
I see how it is Hokie. You don't want me hooking up with someone and posting less on the forums.
I KNEW IT
thideras
08-16-10, 02:08 PM
Unsurprisingly, I don't mind that.
hokiealumnus
08-16-10, 02:10 PM
Hahaha, you're on to my secret plan. Move along folks, nothing to see here. :chair:
ihrsetrdr
08-16-10, 02:45 PM
Sandra....Sandra!
:cry:
;)
petteyg359
08-16-10, 03:15 PM
It might be the SiSoft Sandra. Do you really want to miss your only chance to be benchmarked?
Ben, your email address is perfectly safe. No amount of hunting could dig up email addresses from the database (barring a rather good hacker). Unless it was posted somewhere in public, no one got anyone's email from this site. If you don't want to use a .edu / ISP address, you certainly don't have to. No one forces you to comply with the classified rules. It's your choice in return for access to them.
Uhh... I guess a creative reply to say the least. That wasn't my point at all, in fact, mine was exactly the opposite and to not cause people here alarm. I think you know I am aware of the posted rules here and all that, I obviously have not tried to argue them.
Neat though...
petteyg359
08-17-10, 09:35 PM
Ben, your email address is perfectly safe. No amount of hunting could dig up email addresses from the database (barring a rather good hacker). Unless it was posted somewhere in public, no one got anyone's email from this site. If you don't want to use a .edu / ISP address, you certainly don't have to. No one forces you to comply with the classified rules. It's your choice in return for access to them.
Uhh... I guess a creative reply to say the least. That wasn't my point at all, in fact, mine was exactly the opposite and to not cause people here alarm. I think you know I am aware of the posted rules here and all that, I obviously have not tried to argue them.
Neat though...
I think he was talking about this part of your post:
One could possibly argue this as a reason they didn't want to use their edu or isp email for this site.
It's an excuse based on ignorance, not a reason, because any forum account's profile email isn't public unless you make it that way (by putting it in your MSN contact field).
Which if you read my first post... I state that. I'm not going to get into a quoting game though, you can just scroll up. I clearly say it can be hidden even from members by a setting in the user cp. I don't see where I encourage people to break any rules.
hokiealumnus
08-18-10, 08:33 AM
I never said you were. Your post seemed like it was expressing concern over using an ISP / .edu email, so I was simply trying to reassure you and others that your email addresses are safe.
The other part had nothing to do with any encouragement of breaking the rules, I'm not sure where you got that from. I was simply saying if anyone is still gravely concerned that people can access the ISP or .edu email, they can make the choice to use a different service. Since I was saying that, it seemed prudent to say what the trade-off for that choice would be.
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.