• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Motherboard recommendation?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Petrey

Registered
Hello, I am new here, started getting parts for my build and I'm about to get the last few parts needed within a few days. I'm very new at this, and I want to be sure that what ever I get is compatible.

So far I have:

SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ

SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R

Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W

Antec Three Hundred Illusion

Things I still need:

CPU (was going to get i5-750, but in another thread someone recommended the i5-760 since it's almost the same price)

Heatsink (was thinking Scythe SCMG-2100 based on these reviews.)

GPU (Was thinking MSI R5850 Twin Frozr II, based on the advice on another thread)

Motherboard (Need advice here)

Ram (Need advice here too)

Now, for the motherboard I read on another thread people recommend these three: Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3R, MSI P55-GD65, ASUS P7P55D (Note: I don't have to limit myself to only these three motherboards)

Now the GIGABYTE GA-P55A-UD3 attracts me the most, since it's significantly cheaper, just not sure if I'd be sacrificing anything over the other options. Would all of these be compatible with my setup?

I would be using this PC for gaming, mainly FFXIV.

I want to keep the option open for SLI/XFire for a future upgrade.

I do want to overclock.

So which motherboard should I go for?

And what about memory, another thread recommended 2x2GB, but didn't mention any brands or model numbers.

Also, if there's anything I haven't gotten yet that I said I was considering, feel free to recommend something else if you think there's a better alternative.

I would like to spend conservatively, but at the same time if something is considerable better for only about 10-15% more, I think it's perfectly acceptable.