• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Q6600, GTX 275 and approtiate non sli mobo

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Yek.g_01

Dear everyone, I am an Overclockers website newbie and hope you can help me.This might seem a bit ancient but I recently sold my fx 60 and a8n32 sli on ebay for a nice price and now thinking of getting an intel q6600 and appropriate motherboard for my gtx 275.

The reason for this is that I like budget gaming and can overclock. I have read the difference between an intel q6600 and i7 950 for Gaming in terms of FPS would be minimal to the human eye.

I figured if I was to sli I would go for a 790i ultra board. My questions are:

1. If I was to buy a mobo for just a single GTX 275 and q6600 what should I go for, taking into account overclocking/ reliability

2.Is my processor for good budget gaming a good choice and overall good decision. (I plan on getting i7 in the future 2 years of so, and making this just a general/ internet pc.)

3. If I was to SLI would 780 or 790 really make a difference( ie x16 lanes and ddr3)

Thank You :santa2:

Last edited:
:welcome: to OCForums!

If you're going single GPU, then get a P45 chipset board. P45's OC a lot better than nVidia chipsets in my experiences.

The Q6600 is still a good CPU. An i7 is a much better CPU, but speaking strictly gaming, I'm not sure. I'm not a gamer, and don't really keep up with that.

I would go 790 if you plan on SLI. The DDR3 could be carried over in a platform change and save you some $ in the long run. I've heard and read that the 790 gives more stable OCs and better SLI performance due to how the NF200 is incorporated -vs- the 780 chipset.