• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

fastest settings for Asus P6T + Core i7 940??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kidfrombrooklyn

Registered
here are a few details of this system - I built it myself, the case is 6 years old, some drives are older than that. but it's still running like a champ.
current settings:

core i7 940 OC'd to 3.8 ghz
12 gb 1600mhz RAM 7-8-7-24
multiplier 19
bclk 204
cpu voltage 1.46
cooler master v8 air cooling cpu
cooler master silent pro 1000w psu
nvidia gtx 480

I recently got the nvidia gtx 480, and after a few crashes and some tests realized my three year old 700W psu wasn't enough. So I got a coolermaster 1000W, it's been running great so far.

My question is: how far can I push this cpu with this power supply? anyone have a similar setup? I use this mainly for 3D rendering and after effects

Will I be able to go over 4.0 ghz with this card + psu? My old card, a quadro 3800, drew barely 200 W so I could overclock it well. not sure how far I can push it with the 480 drawing over 600W.

thanks!

here are a few details of this system - I built it myself, the case is 6 years old, some drives are older than that. but it's still running like a champ.
current settings:

core i7 940 OC'd to 3.8 ghz
12 gb 1600mhz RAM 7-8-7-24
multiplier 19
bclk 204
cpu voltage 1.46
cooler master v8 air cooling cpu
cooler master silent pro 1000w psu
nvidia gtx 480

I recently got the nvidia gtx 480, and after a few crashes and some tests realized my three year old 700W psu wasn't enough. So I got a coolermaster 1000W, it's been running great so far.

My question is: how far can I push this cpu with this power supply? anyone have a similar setup? I use this mainly for 3D rendering and after effects