• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SB or BD?!?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

manu2b

Well,

Stupid question indeed, isn't it?

But I am becoming impatient, and started to ordering pieces for my new rig: case, PSU, HDD, SSD, Ram.

Main stuff still missing: mobo and cpu.

And I am getting impatient! Should I go for a 2600k or should I wait 6 more weeks for BD?

After having a look at the TechRepublik "projection benchmark", I am really not sure about BD...

Also, as I am quite new to PCs, can I crossfire my 6950 unlocked and OCed with a 6970 on an Intel platform?

Thank you for your input.

No idea what BD has in store for us, so if you are itching, grab a 2600k. Proven performance.

As far as crossfire, yes you can do that on Intel boards.

Ok EarthDog,

Do you think it is necessary to Watercool the 2600k to get good OC, or will I be just fine with a top end aircooler?

My girlfriend loves my 955 watercooled and I won't have the money to build a WC loop for the 2600k...

EDIT: no rush... Just itchin'!

Water cooling is absolutely unnecessary unless you want to ultraclock and overvolt significantly. If you ran like 1.65V and 5.8Ghz (which someone apparently pulled off) you'd probably want water as you might not cope with that heat too well without the finest air cooling and tonnes of case air flow.

Anywhere under 1.5V the cpu runs pretty cool. With a Cooler Master Hyper 212 $30 or less cooler, you can get any SB chip to 4.5Ghz.

Ok, I might not wait for BD then...

An advice for the mobo maybe?

Just about any midrange (think $150-200) will do. Motherboards are not the limiting factor for SB. ;)

The only real reason to wait for BD is if you crunch or fold. Otrher than that the HT and high clocks of the 2600K will do more to get your rocks off.