• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Researching but not getting anywhere

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mlm2588

Ok! haha sorry for the mess ups everyone.

I am in the market to build my first PC. I just graduated, got a job, and now I find myself with plenty of time to indulge in the things that I am most interested in in hopes to really push what I know to the limit and expand on it. Let me start off by stating I am a complete Noob in hardware knowledge.

For this first build of mine I have set a $1500 budget but I've been told from a friend who has been helping me understand some of this stuff that my budget allows me to build a 'beast' of a computer that would be overkill. I have been told that the best thing to attempt to do is to make sure your PC will be used to its potential, instead of having far more potential than you will ever use.

So, I turn to you all for insight on what CPU would be best for me. I am having trouble understanding all the specs associated with the CPU's I have been researching. You probably all need to know what I am interested in and what I will be using the PC for which is Gaming (FPS, WoW, Rift) and Web & App design/programming with Adobe CS5 (Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Flash, Illustrator, After Effects). Also, I really want to learn some Development things where I'll be running a duel boot of Win 7 and Linux. I would say that as of right now I am a beginner in these subjects but I want to learn and expand on these things and I don't want to be held back by my PC.