• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Please confirm that I have made a good purchase for upgrading

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

binici

Registered
Hey everyone,

I was really digging for information and I think I came to a conclusion that my desktop:

HP Pavallion Elite 170f.
Currently has 9GB of RAM: DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500)
(3 x 2GB)
(3 X 1GB)

could use an upgrade with the RAM below.

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Desktop Memory Model F3-8500CL7D-8GBRL

My questions is?

The mobo on my desktop says Tri-channel, so does that mean I absolutely need at least three sticks to run properly? :confused:

Also, this is my first time purchasing G.Skill, how does it fair with the other brands?

Thanks!

:welcome:

Your board will run triple channel with 3 or 6 sticks or will run dual channel with 2 or 4 sticks properly installed.

I have several G.Skill sets of DDR2 RAM and have been very happy with all the kits.

How many of these kits do you plan to buy? Going from 9GB trple channel to 8Gb dual channel isn't what I'd call an upgrade. lol

Newegg does have similar kits in triple channel too.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...31-464^20-231-464-TS,20-231-405^20-231-405-TS

Hi,

Maybe a dumb question, but what do you use your computer for?
9GB are already quite a lot.

:welcome:

Your board will run triple channel with 3 or 6 sticks or will run dual channel with 2 or 4 sticks properly installed.

I have several G.Skill sets of DDR2 RAM and have been very happy with all the kits.

How many of these kits do you plan to buy? Going from 9GB trple channel to 8Gb dual channel isn't what I'd call an upgrade. lol

Newegg does have similar kits in triple channel too.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...31-464^20-231-464-TS,20-231-405^20-231-405-TS