• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Dual Xeon (p4DCE) Help?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MSFE

I recently built my own Dual Xeon (SuperMicro p4dce+, 2x2.2 Xeons, 2GIGs PC800 RDRAM).

I am a newbie to building and BIOS so pardon my lingo or lack thereof;

In the BIOS, the CPU Clock Multiplier is defaulted to 8 (it goes from 8 to 23). My understanding of P4s was that you multiplied by 400, so you would actually need a multiplier of 5.5. But seeing as this starts at 8, maybe SuperMicro does things differerntly? Anyway, a little leery of popping up to 22 since I don't want to accidentally burn out two $750 CPUs.

Also, I did benchmakrs on the ram, my PC800 scored far less than the default PC800 ram in integer scores.

Any BIOS assistance appreciated!

Thanks!

wrong

The front side bus is actually a quad pumped 100Mhz bus(100x4.) Therefore, the CPU speed is 100x the multiplier, not 400x. I wouldn't worry too much about that setting anyway, as you can't change it. No matter what the bios defaults to, or what you set it to, it is locked in the chip, and bios settings won't have any effect. This is unless of course you have an unlocked engineering sample, which I doubt. Sorry!

So basically 22x100 I want to see some benchmarks on that rig. Wow it must be really sweet. I wish I had $5000 for all that.

MSFE said:
I recently built my own Dual Xeon (SuperMicro p4dce+, 2x2.2 Xeons, 2GIGs PC800 RDRAM).

Also, I did benchmakrs on the ram, my PC800 scored far less than the default PC800 ram in integer scores.

Your RAM is registered/ECC. It takes X% hit for error correction in comparison to vanilla RAM.

Re: wrong

hoytron said: