• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New IT student looking for some help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Morblakesmom

Hi!! I hope I am in the right place to post this! I am a new IT student and I have a question I hope one of you out there can answer! I am having to look up several different processors and list their specs. I am having trouble finding the bus speed for most of these. Can someone tell me how it is listed on the spec chart. I know that it is measured in MHz, but not having any luck locating it!!! Thank you all!

If you're having to look up newer processors, they don't really have a front side bus speed anymore. The memory and pcie controllers are on the cpu itself so they run at different speeds. No more communicating with a northbridge on a motherboard to interface with the other components at a set rate.

That being said, this is what you'll be looking for on a bit older cpu's (from intel site):

edit: to go along with what reduc said, that would be 2500mhz / 7.5 = 333mhz.
333mhz x 4 transfers/cycle = 1333mhz fsb

Captureaa.PNG

Last edited:
where are you taking this class? seems like an odd lesson.

by the way, 6 months hanging out in our general hardware subforum and you would likely learn this sort of stuff much deeper than this class will. ;)