• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best CPU for effective Excel/Access and SQL 2008/2012 computation

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Galgotha

Registered
I am starting to price out building a machine for work. I am a financial analyst for a large firm that has approximately 68,000 SKU's in our main Database we have for each SKU around 139 data fields for each SKU holding some sort of definer about that SKU. On top of that I have sales SQL database with more data for each SKU that is maybe another 80 or so definers.

Work standard issue PC is laptop, I do get qualified for the "Top" line one but that CPU is the i7-2620m and I do get to upgrade to the 8GB of RAM and licensed for Win 7 64 Pro and Office 11 64bit. But still this machine can not handle the computational requirements I am needing. I am using Powerpivot more lately which has helped moving data to a SQL 2008 environment but still when I need to forecast expenses beyond just looking and summarizing data the computer is dogged down.

I have finally convinced my boss to allow me to expense building a "number cruncher". Budget is flexible but remember I am in accounting department we are conservative spenders ;)

I feel have two paths from what I can see. And I am wondering what path would be best. The question I have is the logic behind how the CPU processes Excel/Access/SQL data does the MHZ speed verse amount of threads available matter. Reason being is I am look at it two ways.

Option 1. Build a 3930K 130W and OC to 4.8Ghz which from reading is very capable of doing stably. So I would have 12 Threads at 4.8Ghz or likely stepped little below.

or

Option 2. Build a HPTX dual server board with Xeon E5-2620 95W 2.0Ghz(2.5Ghz Turbo) and have combined 24Threads as max 2.5Ghz.