• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

2100 vs 2700 Please help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mlakrid

Registered
Ok everyone please inform me, Ii am running a 1.6 northwood (not Oc'd yet) with 512 2100 single, will I see a big difference between 2100 and 2700 or not?? I was told yes and no by many different people, and most the reads i saw said yes, but it seems to me that if im going to OC the fsb it wont matter, Am I crazy or what??

Mike A

i'm a little new with memory info but as far as i know the only difference between pc2100 and pc2700 is the max rated fsb it can run at. if you run pc2700 ram at pc2100 fsb speeds, you will see little if any improvement.

Mlakrid is correct. The benefit of PC2700 is in its overclockability. If you are thinking of Kingmax PC2700, then go for it. Make sure that the chips are 5ns, and not higher. Higher than 5ns means that the chips are actually just overclocked PC2400 or lower.

Cheers,
F

You're running a Petium 4 so unless you're running some serious cooling, you won't ever run at the speed of at 2700 speeds, which is designed to run at 166mhz fsb.(I'm not all that up to date with P4's, so if your P4 runs at 133/533 fsb, it a lot easier to get that high, but still not easy.) Crucial make great pc2100 that will easily do 150mhz with good timmings(with a +.2v increase), even higher if you raise the volts higher.

Another thing you got to look at is what ram timmings you can run at. The faster the timings the bigger the bandwidth, but more unstable at higher fsb speeds. So good pc2700 will run at faster timmings at 150mhz compared to pc2100(both at default voltage)

So it all boils down on what fsb you're aiming at, and if you run pc2100 and 2700 at the same speed and timmings, the bandwith will be almost exactly the same.