• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Mobo for P4 Northwood

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bull

I know I sound like a newbie here but the last time I bought an intel chip was the PII 400 with the BX chipset. I'm just wondering what a good overclocking board for a P4 1.6 or 1.8 gig northwood would be. I plan to water cool it as I have already got the case for it. I have looked at the Soyo dragon for the P4 and might buy it but I would like to get some input into what wouild be the best board for overclocking. I have an AMD XP 1600 right now air cooled but I have heard that the northwoods can get 800mhz higher on air cooling thats why I want to try water cooling.

Thanks fellow overclockers.

Daniel

well, i've used the p4b266, it got a 1.6 to 2.13ghz no problem, ran into problems further than that, granted the chip wasnt malaysian, it was costa rican =(

The Soyo Dragon seemed to be a very good mobo.
Brand name...good specs...many settings....and so on.....

But unfortunately a read recently some negative review about it
talking about bios settings that exist...but dont really work.

So i took it out of my options.

Untill now the best mobo available (in my opinion) is the
EPOX 4SDA+
( DDR333,RAID,ATA133....many o\cing settings...and rock stable )

Do your own research...and see what you come up with

I was in the same situation you are in. I'm building a system for a guy at work. He insist's on an intel system. I have'nt built an intel system since my old Abit BH6-II & PIII 800 day's. I'm in the dark on it. But with a little (actually alot :)) of help from the great member's of this forum I figured it all out.