• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

L2 Cache question..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dgm6780

Registered
Ok complete noob question here..... I am currently set at 256k L2 Cache, uhm how do I bump it up to 512k? I gotta feeling that question is gonna make me look awfully dumb... Please help tho =)

NOob

sorry for the 2x post, was trying to reply and somehow reposted again. Ok after some searching I have found 2 ways 2 increase L2 Cache settings, soldering and this http://myhome.netsgo.com/wesleycrushr/WDSoft/products.html

Seems as tho its only supports Asus K7V, anyone know a program that supports AZZA boards or maybe just a generic one. And also I am about to upgrade my BIOS, is this kinda program gonna fug that up?

NOob

L2 cache is very small and intricate, and I don't think it's possible to solder it onto your chip (socket chips). If you could, I think every one would be doing it as more L2 cache is better.
The only way I've seen to increase L2 cache with Intel Chips is buy an intel chip that has more L2 cache.
I think it would be the same way with AMD. The link you gave is talking about Slot A Athlons (note the mention of the chips PCB), which you may be able to solder the cache on, but I'm not sure how handy at the old soldering iron you'd need to be.

The artilce that I looked at on the link you provided talked about increasing the speed of the L2 cache, not increasing its memory size. But to what your original question asked, like strokeside asked, yeah its very difficult if not impossible to perform this kind of microsurgery unless you have the proper tools and training.

Ah so the cpu determines your L2 cache size? I thought it was the mainboard that determined it, no worries then as I will be upgrading from my AMD T-Bird 1GHZ to an AMD XP 1800+ in the next week.

NOob