• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Soyo Dragon P4S & GF4 Issue

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

scr3wdriver

First off, HELLO EVERYONE! I know it says this is my first post but just to let you know, I am not a complete newb .

I just bought the SOYO P4S Dragon and do not know what to do. This is my first SiS chipset I have bought in ages but in reviews it handles much better than the i845 with the slower DDR ram.

I guess there is a couple revisions (version A & B) of my board already and want to know if anyone has any clue on what to do. Does anyone know what the difference is between the two and/or if the B version will fix my problem. I don't even know if I have an A or a B.

I've only have had my board for 11 days and started having issues from day one, so I can still return the motherboard. This board does have a lot of features and potential but is it worth the wait!??

After reading my msg's below, which way should I go!?

1.) Return my SOYO and get a ASUS P4S3333 (the sis 645dx board), and spend a little bit more money since I got my SOYO & 1.8A in a package deal.

2.) RMA my Soyo product to SOYO and wait to get the new version of the board from them.

3.) Return my motherboard and try to buy the same board and hope it has the newer B version. (Does anyone know how to tell the difference!???)

4.) Deal with my problem and forget ever using my GeForce 4 cards in my system ... I shoud just stick to my GeForce 2 MX and only check emails and forums.

****** Msg I sent to SOYO *******
Motherboard: P4S Dragon - 04/08/02
BIOS Version: 2BA3 (Tried 2BA2 Also)
CPU: P4 1.8A
Memory: Mushkin 512mb DDR2700 - (also tried Consair DDR3000 256mb x 2)
VGA Card: VisionTek Geforce 4 Ti4400 (Currently using Asus GF2mx since the GF4 won't boot 100%)
Other peripherals: Plextor 40x CD-R
Toshiba 16x DVD