• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need tips on overclocking 1.6a on Epox 4SDA+ mobo

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mychacho

Registered
This is my first attempt at p4 overclocking, so naturally there is quiet a few questions I have about a best stability/performance balance for the overclocked system.
I got an Epox 4SDA+ motherboard with P4 1.6A and the stock intel heatsink/fan. I also have 2 256MB PC2100 Crucial modules from BestBuy . Its a CT3264Z265 memory module(CL=2.5).
It was fairly easy to take the cpu over 2ghz by setting the FSB to 133, but other settings in the bios I am not at all familiar with..
1. How far can I take this memory? How do I overclock it in the 4SDA+ bios?

2. why would I want to increase or decrease voltage to agp, pci, ram, cpu, etc.

3. I have a few pci cards in there, and I will be doing digital video editing on this comp, so stability is extremely important for me. I dont want to take the hardware to its extremes, but if it has a potential for greatness, I want to use it as long as I am guaranteed stability. So how far should I take and h ow far have you taken it? I want to overclock the pci/agp buses as little as possible.

4) Does oveclocking affect the ide controllers or raid? I need my hds to be very stable

5. post your results and bios settings relevant to overclocking with 4sda+

1. How far can I take this memory? How do I overclock it in the 4SDA+ bios?

You will just have to try and see.

2. why would I want to increase or decrease voltage to agp, pci, ram, cpu, etc.

Higher voltage will usually help stability when overclocking or allow a higher overclock. Don't get silly here the or you might end up with dead componets.

Agp/pci=If you want to oc your video card. I wouldn't mess with that one myself video cards can be easily damaged.