• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Debating between 8kha+ and Ak3.1

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Emericana

right now i have all of the parts for a new system i am building except for the mobo. Here are the basic specs:
UNLOCKED 1900+ w/ thermaltake sk6 w/ delta 50cfm fan
Lianli PC68 (comes w/ 3 80mm panaflow fans)
Gainward GF3Ti500
2 Sticks of 256mb Corsair 2400
400wat antec psu
cdrw/dvdrom/floppy/zipdrive
sbaudigy
Western Digital 100gig drive w/ 8mb cache

now, this is my first time ever overclockin the cpu so i made sure that i picked out optimal parts and such so i can have success. I can not decide between either mobo. I have heard that the 8kha has instability problems when overclocked and the shuttle has a ****ty northbridge fan (is there anyway to fix that btw?).

I was going to get the shuttle till i read that post about the northbridge fans breaking and i do NOT wanna haveto send back my mobo to newegg(where i am getting all my parts). However, i do like how everything is jumperless in the shuttle.

can somebody pls help me decide between these two boards? thanks!

mobo's

Very happy with my AK31 r3.1

Northbridge fan has given me no problems, but if it did cut out, it would probably be very simple to replace with say a GPU HSF.

Southbridge has given me problems... no USB! But that is a flaw in the VIA KT266 and KT266a chipsets. Most ppl have no such problem. I just got a cheap USB PCI card and now all is well.

Some other things about the Shuttle board...
can only use 3 of the 4 DIMMS unless you use registered DDR memory,

max FSB setting in Bios is 166 (but you could go higher with progs like CPUcool),

max vcore without voltage mod is 1.85v.

Still this board has been very stable for me at FSB around 150-152

Usb?