• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

linux\windows OS

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

vulcanman09

:confused:
i was reading a linked article
( cannot find that link now)
that microsoft is currently working on a linux version
of the VISTA operating system

if that is true
we are all S*****D
:bang head :bang head :bang head :bang head

yep
viruses , pop-up ads , malware , spyware
you name it:confused: :confused:

well apparently you don't understand how linux works. Also what you read I think, is that the following versions of Windows are taking a cue from Linux in the way it works, filesystem wise and what not. If they are true to Linux, then you need user permission before you can install anything. So the user by default is more aware.

true
i am a newbie to linux
hopefully i can find that link again
and re-read it again

so can you tell me which inkjet printer manufacturer
has native printer drivers imbedded in the operating system

i have a hp inkjet
and for the life of me
i cannot get it to work
linspire wont even detect it let alone use it

were you reading an article about the MS-Novell agreement? and use the HPLIP drivers and CUPS.

vulcanman09 said:
microsoft is currently working on a linux version
of the VISTA operating system
This makes no sense. Vista and windows are two different OSes, the only way to run one on top of the other is an emulator or virtualization.

Gnufsh said:
This makes no sense. Vista and windows are two different OSes, the only way to run one on top of the other is an emulator or virtualization.

You mean Vista and Linux, right? :D Cause, IIRC, Windows Vista is Windows. :beer: