Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Member domstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Wales,UK
    Posts
    439

    ATI 128Pro or Voodoo3 2000?

    I recentley destroyed my Gefroce 2 as you may have read prviuosly in these forums. im now looking for a cheap replacemnt that i can overclock a little .Im running a Duron 1GIG at 1.3 with 224MB of SDRAM. both of these cards are 16MB.so whcih to choose?which is the better card and which is more overclockable?
    THX again guys
    Dom

    PS-need a BIOS upgrade but i cant find a specific one for my mobo-it is a CT-7AJA.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Lansdowne, VA
    Posts
    924
    I'm not 100% positive but I think the V3 is faster.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Maxvla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    9,289
    either card isn't going to give you much. sure you can't afford 56 bucks for a gf2 mx400?

    edit... just saw you were in the uk
    The Black Hole
    Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
    Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX460 1GB
    Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
    Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
    Corsair HX850W PSU
    NEC DVD-RW

  4. #4
    Member domstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Wales,UK
    Posts
    439
    I had a Geforce 2 before and i didnt think much of it. I am only goin to use this card as a provisional for the time being untill i can buy something beter. i need a card as im havein to run CS in software renderer.
    Dom

  5. #5
    Senior Member Maxvla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    9,289
    Originally posted by domstar
    I had a Geforce 2 before and i didnt think much of it.
    the geforce 2 series is still very capable on most of todays games.

    i play rtcw with excellent frame rates (60-90) and i don't even have ddr video memory.
    The Black Hole
    Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
    Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX460 1GB
    Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
    Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
    Corsair HX850W PSU
    NEC DVD-RW

  6. #6
    Member domstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Wales,UK
    Posts
    439
    What are the Geforce 2 GTS like.Im considering buying a 32MB Geforce2 DDR card. Are they any good?
    Dominic

  7. #7
    Senior Member Maxvla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    9,289
    if you are looking into gf2 gts cards... i'd suggest you look at 1time's deal in the video card classifieds... he's selling gf3 ti200s for 70 bucks. hell of a deal.
    The Black Hole
    Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
    Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX460 1GB
    Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
    Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
    Corsair HX850W PSU
    NEC DVD-RW

  8. #8
    Member IHateStupidPPL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cookeville/Nashville, TN
    Posts
    114
    Ive got an Xpert 128 which is a 16mb ATI card...I have it working as the card for my second monitor. Works just fine, havent had any problems with it. I had this card in a p3 600 and it managed to play Jedi Knight 2 and RTCW without any problems. This card was $35 and for the price it does just fine.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Maxvla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    9,289
    Originally posted by IHateStupidPPL
    I had this card in a p3 600 and it managed to play Jedi Knight 2 and RTCW without any problems.
    i refuse to believe this... unless your version of "without any problems" means you got 10 fps and were still able to drag through the game. there is no way thats enough power to run rtcw at anything over 800x600 (which that would be pretty sad as well)
    The Black Hole
    Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
    Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX460 1GB
    Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
    Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
    Corsair HX850W PSU
    NEC DVD-RW

  10. #10
    Senior Member funnyperson1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    10,541
    get whichever is cheaper, but i would have to agree that a Geforce2 (except the MX200) would give you QUITE a boost...

    "Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
    its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
    My Heatware
    [Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]

  11. #11
    Member IHateStupidPPL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cookeville/Nashville, TN
    Posts
    114
    Originally posted by Maxvla


    i refuse to believe this... unless your version of "without any problems" means you got 10 fps and were still able to drag through the game. there is no way thats enough power to run rtcw at anything over 800x600 (which that would be pretty sad as well)
    If you dont want to believe it thats your own issue. It ran fine, I had no problems whatsoever. Maps did take awhile to download but gameplay was perfectly smooth. Feel free to PM tatics(my roomate) if you want further conformation.

  12. #12
    Member Batman@'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    564
    DONT GET A VOODOO 3dFX card! They have no 'real' drivers for windows xp! :P

  13. #13
    Member Monaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    2,164
    A V3 is faster, but like The Rock said- no XP drivers makes it pretty useless. The W2K drivers aren't so great IMHO, either.

    A GTS is a very good card- I got mine overclocked pretty high and it has handled every game I have thrown at it so far with no problems. Plus it is cheap nowadays too

    i refuse to believe this... unless your version of "without any problems" means you got 10 fps and were still able to drag through the game. there is no way thats enough power to run rtcw at anything over 800x600 (which that would be pretty sad as well)
    I know I believe it, as I ran the RTcW demo on my 300A@450/ Voodoo3 no problemo. 640x480 and low detail, true, but it ran at a good FPS and I enjoyed playing it. It's still based on Q3, after all!

  14. #14
    Member domstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Wales,UK
    Posts
    439
    Are ATI 2000XPERT 32MB any good? are they XP compatible?I mean i got drivers for it but are they as good in XP as they are in say 98? Is it a worthwhile consideration?
    Dom

  15. #15
    Member advanR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    472
    i loved my v3000 when i had it. i just replaced it a month ago. it overclocked to 200/200 easily. i thnk a v2000 should get around 170-180. ona p3 700 it ran quake 3 1024x768 full detail flawlessly. and what i liked most about it was stability, it ran everything.
    but that was on win9x. and i guess if youre using xp there might be problems.

    how much would these cards cost? decide how much you want to spend and how good of a card you need.

  16. #16
    Senior Band Wagon Jumper CrystalMethod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,736
    Originally posted by Maxvla


    i refuse to believe this... unless your version of "without any problems" means you got 10 fps and were still able to drag through the game. there is no way thats enough power to run rtcw at anything over 800x600 (which that would be pretty sad as well)
    Some of us realize that a framerate above 38-48 FPS will earn you nothing but bragging rights, as the human eye cannot even see anything above that. Some of us also don't feel the need to play games at a high resolution. I personnally play at 800 X 600. The cards I have will do higher but I prefer to play at a lower resolution.

  17. #17
    Member DRaZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    wolverhampton, england
    Posts
    479
    Gf3ti200 ????????????
    4
    70 dollars ????????????

    I HATE THE UK !!!!!!!!!!!

    anyone have a rough idea how much shipping would cost to the uk ? also do you have an rough price on a ti500 ???
    Phenom II x2 555 Black Edition @ 4x 4.0Ghz
    Asus Crosshair IV Formula
    8GB G.Skill RipJaw DDR3 1600 @ 1800Mhz
    MSI 3GB FrozR III 7950
    120Gb Kingston KC300 Sata 6gbs SSD 525/500mbs
    1Tb seagate Sata 6gbs storage
    650 Watt Powercool modular psu
    22" widescreen hd monitor / 32" 1080 TV
    Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
    HD Freeview TV Card with remote
    Fractal Design ARC Midi R2, Red LED lighting,
    Water cooling proc only, black butterfly, 120 Radiator, 650lph pump/res with Mayhems Aurora tharsis red coolant.

  18. #18
    Member advanR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    472
    dont get a ti500. the prices are i think around $150-200 for a card that is a tiny bit better than a ti200. gf3 oc limits are being reached low enough on the ti500 that the ti200 is very close.

    a suggestion by me. take a look at a radeon 8500 for $95 at newegg.com . it was a super hot deal a month ago and still is. figure out what shipping to the uk would be and see if it would be worth it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •