Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    291

    ouch! temps too high!

    ok according to winbond, my freshly installed Athlon XP1800+ is running at 53 celsius during normal web surfing / music playing. That seems way too high to me for safe operation. I'm thinking that using a shim was not a good idea as it might be preventing full pressure contact between core and heatsink. Does anyone have any hints that might help me fix this problem? Here's what I have:

    Abit NV7-133R
    Athlon XP1800+
    Arctic Alumina
    Alpha 8045
    Enermax adjustable 80mm fan on HSF, turned to max RPM
    2 80mm case fans in
    1 80mm fan out, plus power supply.

    I followed the Arctic Alumina instruction, making sure to not apply too much, and to make it as even as possible. Thanks.
    n/a

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Waterloo, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    1,093
    Make sure your heatsink is making proper contact.


    If you have loose cables, tidy them up somehow and put them out of the way. also, do you have any case fans ? if not get one or two.


    and if your getting readings off the mobo's socket sensor then have a little faith, those things are horribly innacurate

  3. #3
    No, I showered
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    1,538
    I'm worse off than you. I've got an 8045 with a decent fan on it (40 cfm or so I believe). My T-Bird 1000@1450, 1.8v vCore (well, 1.93 according to MBM) is running at something like (almost idle, just websurfing and reading the forums) at 59C with a case temp of 24C. That's using the in socket thermisitor of my K7T Turbo (which is the springy flexible kind that SHOULD work better than the more common ones I see on most boards).

    So, don't feel bad, it could be worse.

  4. #4
    Member pby5cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    california
    Posts
    605
    correct me if im rong but Arctic Alumina is the arctic silver + epoxy?
    Intel Q6600 L727A
    Asus Maximus Formula
    2X2gb Gskill DDRII-1000
    2X HIS ATI HD3870 in Crossfire (835,1206)
    WD 150Gb Raptor and Maxtor 250Gb DiamondMax10
    2X Samsung DVD-RW DL SATA
    Silverstone OP850
    Thermalright Ultra 120 Xtreme (lapped)
    thats it, and proud of it.
    My Heatware

  5. #5
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    artic alumina is cheap artic silver.....
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Waterloo, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    1,093
    Define "cheap arctic silver"

    works fine for me. It's not plain old white goop and it's not conductive, I'm pretty sure it's better than AS1, and slightly worse than AS2.. so I'd call it a "safe value" rather than cheap AS

  7. #7
    Member hellrazrblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    H town or Tulsa
    Posts
    591
    whatever you call it, its cheap and not as thermally conductive as AS2, AS3, or AS adhesive; so yes, its cheap arctic silver

  8. #8
    Member Rotary-Motion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Herefordshire - UK
    Posts
    507
    hi

    my temps are at the bottom i get those with mine but before i changed my hsf i had 64c running temp?

    mad ah!

    thx.......

  9. #9
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    why did they make artic alumina? artic silver isnt conductive or anything, its only the epoxy....
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    338
    I'm pretty sure AS2/3 is conductive. Its not designed to be but I've heard of alotta guys shorting out their memory w/ it. While they say its not conductive, they say to keep it away from pins and traces, lol.

    Hell, test it w/ a multimeter
    E8600. EP45-UD3P. 500FSB 24/7. Still WinXP. Heatware

  11. #11
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    its only the epoxy, the goop isnt...
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    291
    well, stupid me i just found out why my CPU temps are so high. According to the Abit website, the in-socket diode reports temps that are 10 scales higher than they should be, and with a simple BIOS flash it should be fixed. So in reality, I should be looking at 40 C idle temps and about 46 under load (10 loops of 3DMark2001 for now, i'm gonna do a 24 hr burn in when I install XP), which i guess aren't too bad after all.

    Also, I used Arctic Alumina because it isn't conductive, it's less messy, it didn't cost as much, and the performance is only 1 C higher in most cases. I'm also planning on ducting cool air from a side vent with a 92mm fan directly on to the heatsink in the up coming weeks, hopefully that can knock down the temps another 4 C or so.
    n/a

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Waterloo, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    1,093
    I think it's shady they say it's not conductive but also warn to keep it away from pins - etc...

    If it's not "conductive" then what is it ?? Whatever it is, it can render equipment useless is the fact of the matter...

    As far as I know, you don't run that risk from Arctic Alumina, and actually it's not even "silver" looking...

    So it's not cheap arctic silver it's..... Performance "white" goop

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •