Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: EM III question

  1. #1

    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Phoenix

    Question EM III question

    I am running various version of F@H Client Console Only version on mostly Win ME machine and using EMIII (various versions) to hide the icon.

    My problem is whenever the user tries to reboot the PC, the message pops up that says the F@H window has to be closed first.

    I have the option, "Close F@H Window on shutdown" checked on EMIII on all the clients. What can I do to not have that window pop up on rebooting or turning the PC off?

    Thanks.
    Folding User Stats
    i7 920 D0 @ 3.8 @ 1.328v - Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R (rev. 1.0) - Prolimatech Megahalems push/pull - OCZ Gold 6GB RAM - HD6870 - Corsair TX750 - Antec 902 - Windows7 x64
    Heatware

  2. #2
    On a string I was held Senior NASsoccer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    i live

    Re: EM III question

    Originally posted by chuckerants
    I am running various version of F@H Client Console Only version on mostly Win ME machine and using EMIII (various versions) to hide the icon.

    My problem is whenever the user tries to reboot the PC, the message pops up that says the F@H window has to be closed first.

    I have the option, "Close F@H Window on shutdown" checked on EMIII on all the clients. What can I do to not have that window pop up on rebooting or turning the PC off?

    Thanks.
    this isn't a em3 problem i believe, it is the same thing that happens when you restart in 98(with the text client). it ask you to close the client, or at least for me it did. gui doesn't do this.

    this is how i solved it:

    Copy conagent.exe from C:\windows\system, paste it in your F@H dir, right click it, goto the Misc tab, uncheck "Warn if still active". A conagent shortcut should then automagically appear in your F@H dir. Reboot. The shut-down warnings will now no longer appear.


    FOLD ON
    NAS
    Last edited by NASsoccer; 07-28-02 at 04:10 PM.

  3. #3
    Member DManeKid's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brick, NJ USA

    Re: EM III question

    Originally posted by chuckerants
    I have the option, "Close F@H Window on shutdown" checked on EMIII on all the clients.
    just to let you know what that does is shut down your F@H client when you shut down EMIII not windows

  4. #4
    Intel Fanboy FoldingAddict's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile

    Re: Re: EM III question

    Originally posted by DManeKid


    just to let you know what that does is shut down your F@H client when you shut down EMIII not windows
    That shouldn’t matter. EMIII is closed when windows closes, so it should close the client as well.

  5. #5
    On a string I was held Senior NASsoccer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    i live

    Re: Re: Re: EM III question

    Originally posted by FoldingAddict


    That shouldn’t matter. EMIII is closed when windows closes, so it should close the client as well.
    i think the problem is that windows is trying to close the client before em3 does and that woulc cause the problem. also 98/me has a problem every so often of not closing the core when the client is closed.

    try the conagent method and see what you get.

    FOLD ON
    NAS

  6. #6

    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Phoenix
    It worked.

    All I had to do after modifying the Conagent.exe file was to reboot and then Windows doesn't pop up that window the next time.

    Thanks NAS.
    Last edited by chuckerants; 07-27-02 at 09:48 PM.
    Folding User Stats
    i7 920 D0 @ 3.8 @ 1.328v - Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R (rev. 1.0) - Prolimatech Megahalems push/pull - OCZ Gold 6GB RAM - HD6870 - Corsair TX750 - Antec 902 - Windows7 x64
    Heatware

  7. #7
    Intel Fanboy FoldingAddict's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Originally posted by chuckerants
    It worked.

    All I had to do after modifying the Conagent.exe file was to reboot and then Windows doesn't pop up that windwo.

    Thanks NAS.
    Heheh. Leave it to NAS to give you the right answer the first time.

  8. #8
    On a string I was held Senior NASsoccer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    i live
    Originally posted by chuckerants
    It worked.

    All I had to do after modifying the Conagent.exe file was to reboot and then Windows doesn't pop up that windwo.

    Thanks NAS.
    woohoo glad to hear it!!! yeah i had this problem on some of the comps at work and this is what i had to do to them. glad to hear it worked out!

    edit: lol foldingaddict

    FOLD ON
    NAS

  9. #9
    Member DManeKid's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brick, NJ USA

    Re: Re: Re: EM III question

    Originally posted by FoldingAddict


    That shouldn’t matter. EMIII is closed when windows closes, so it should close the client as well.
    hehe you should really learn to read more carefully, all i was doing was telling him what that option does

  10. #10
    Intel Fanboy FoldingAddict's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile

    Re: Re: Re: Re: EM III question

    Originally posted by DManeKid


    hehe you should really learn to read more carefully, all i was doing was telling him what that option does
    And I clarified that at windows shutdown EMIII closes, so with that option checked, the client should close a little before EMIII actually closes.

  11. #11
    Member JetMech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Folding 24/7 in Newport News, Va. Since Sept. 2001

    Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: EM III question

    Originally posted by FoldingAddict


    And I clarified that at windows shutdown EMIII closes, so with that option checked, the client should close a little before EMIII actually closes.
    I think this is something we may have to bounce off Weatherman. It all depends on how he wrote the code. Did he program EMIII to wait or not? We don't know. I had that option checked on an earlier version that was making us start EM twice before it would work and FAH was shutting off. At the time I thought the option meant that windows would shut the client down but everytime I shut down EM to restart the console closed. Drove me nuts for a while.
    Last edited by JetMech; 07-28-02 at 01:12 AM.
    Fold Smart
    E6600@2.4x2
    Proud member of Folding@Home Team #32--Folding 24/7
    Avatar by : IMOG
    "Greater love hath no man than to give up his puter(s) for science."

  12. #12
    Unoriginal Macho Moderator nikhsub1's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    I think if you use the GUI version of FAH on Win 95,98 & ME with EMIII, you wont get the shutdown errors.
    Loading Signature ...

  13. #13
    Member DManeKid's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brick, NJ USA
    Originally posted by nikhsub1
    I think if you use the GUI version of FAH on Win 95,98 & ME with EMIII, you wont get the shutdown errors.
    yep, thats the way it goes!

  14. #14

    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Phoenix
    I think if you use the GUI version of FAH on Win 95,98 & ME with EMIII, you wont get the shutdown errors.
    Then I'd have to explain in detail what F@H was. I'd rather just tell the end-users that I'm just running a harmless utility.
    Folding User Stats
    i7 920 D0 @ 3.8 @ 1.328v - Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R (rev. 1.0) - Prolimatech Megahalems push/pull - OCZ Gold 6GB RAM - HD6870 - Corsair TX750 - Antec 902 - Windows7 x64
    Heatware

  15. #15
    On a string I was held Senior NASsoccer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    i live
    Originally posted by chuckerants

    Then I'd have to explain in detail what F@H was. I'd rather just tell the end-users that I'm just running a harmless utility.
    nah if you run the gui as a task it is hidden from view completely, along with the tray icon.(then delete it from the programs list and make the folder hidden , only left to trace is that it is listed in the add/remove programs list) of course i always say if you can use the text only then use it so if it is working for you then by all means keep on


    FOLD ON
    NAS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •