Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: xp--> nt4.0

  1. #1
    Member AltecXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    551

    xp--> nt4.0

    i have xp pro on my c drive and its formated as ntfs, now can i put nt4.0 on my d: drive as either fat 32 or ntfs it doesnt see the c: drive as a supported format(i know 4.0 doesnt support ntfs) but if i put d: as fat32 how can i install it?

  2. #2
    Oni-ni-Kanabō
    Ninja Hippo eater Moderator
    Oni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    13,547
    NT4 certainly DOES support NTFS!

    Seeing as your current C: drive is already formatted NTFS, I think you should put NT on an NTFS partition as well. Just seems better. That, and I'm not sure if NT4 will be able to see the NTFS partition if it's on a FAT partition.
    Mama, put my guns in the ground. I can't shoot them anymore.

    On Indefinite Hiatus

    Asus P6T SE
    Intel i7 930 @ Stock
    12GB Corsair DDR3 9-9-9-24
    XFX Radeon 5830 @ Stock
    Corsair 750 Watt PSU


  3. #3
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,394
    NT will not read fat32. It also wont read NTFS from WinXP since WinXP uses NTFS5.0 and NT uses NTFS4.0. If you upgrade your WINNT to use the lastest service pack, it can read NTFS5, but cannot write in NTFS5.
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  4. #4
    Member AltecXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    551
    well how can i installit to my d:drive if c: is ntfs5?

  5. #5
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,394
    Originally posted by AltecXP
    well how can i installit to my d:drive if c: is ntfs5?

    just install NT to the d:drive and intall all the service packs. When you go back to xp, you'll be able to read the ntfs4 because xp can still read ntfs4, just can't write in ntfs4. WinNt install on d: drive will be able to read ntfs5 if you upgrade to all the service packs, but wont be able to write in ntfs5.
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  6. #6
    Red Raccoon Dojo ThePerfectCore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2,268
    NT4 can't read FAT32? News to me.

  7. #7
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,394
    Originally posted by ThePerfectCore
    NT4 can't read FAT32? News to me.
    it was said above when i displayed each of the os's and what each can read/write.
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  8. #8
    Always one step ahead of jdmcnudgent Big Nuttz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio
    Posts
    1,322
    I tried installing 2000 Advanced server after XP Pro was installed and it wouldnt dual boot right. I had to install 2000 Advanced Server first and then install XP Pro.
    My Rig--Asus P6T Deluxe--i7 920 @ 3.6--6144MB Corsair XMS--HD 4850

  9. #9
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,394
    I wish i had win2k advanced server. I had win2k but i formatted yesterday and installed xp. I wish i could've reinstalled 2k but my friend burnt my win2k cd with his cigarette and the cd wont work anymore.

    Actually, i wish i had win2k datacenter server, LOL/
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  10. #10
    Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me... rogerdugans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Corner of No and Where
    Posts
    5,956
    Get the Windows .Net RC1 Beta....
    I have Server up and running, and downloading Enterprise Server now...........
    Still overclocked and running linux on watercooled computers after all these years.

  11. #11
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,394
    downloading?
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  12. #12
    Member AltecXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    551
    durring installation it tells me that nt needs t o put certain files n c: but cant cuz c: has ntfs5

  13. #13
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,394
    Originally posted by AltecXP
    durring installation it tells me that nt needs t o put certain files n c: but cant cuz c: has ntfs5
    nt is trying to configure the ntldr/boot.ini to dual boot, in order to do this, nt4.0 has to install its' boot files onto the system partition. It can't do this, because xp is running in ntfs5 while nt4.0 (obviously has no service files because it's not installed) is ntfs4 and not ntfs5. There's nothing you can do unless you convert ntfs5 back to fat32 which you can only do with partition magic 7, but in order to convert it, you need to have less then 2 gigs on it since it 1st converts it to fat16 then to fat32.
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  14. #14
    Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me... rogerdugans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Corner of No and Where
    Posts
    5,956
    Originally posted by Royal
    downloading?

    Yup.

    See this thread for more details
    Still overclocked and running linux on watercooled computers after all these years.

  15. #15
    Member AltecXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    551
    so i have to reformat and start from scratch? thats ok, im assumeing that nt will run fine w/ my 1.6mhz intel 256mb sdram SB live! ati 128 rage ultra and linksys100tx lan card, i plan to use it just for vs6 and the xp pro for vs.net will office xp run ok on nt or should i use 2000 or 97? and should 8gb be enough room or should i go for 10-15? nt will be for school(same os and vs as school) and xp will be for my own use? is their any problems w/ this set up? oh c: is a single 20gb drive and D: E: F: and Z: are currently two 11.7 gb and one 13.8 gb drive and z: is 500mb u usefor a page file for xp d-z are partition off of a 40gb drive. will my cd burner work if i install nero? and will my usb zip 100 work at all?

  16. #16
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,394
    a lot of software's are made for specific operating systems. For instance, if you try to play red alert on a non win9x system, it ownt work. Some software come in options for win9x, and some for winnt. Refer to the back of the box the software came in and check whether or not it can be used on the os you want it on. Also, yes you'd have to re-format to dual boot winnt. There is a downfall though, you'd have to use fat16 for your winxp because winnt can't use fat32. Don't bother using fat16, as the largest partition size is only 2GB. Just install nt on your other computer.
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  17. #17
    Member AltecXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    551
    i gave my other comp to my dad for a fam. comp, so i just have the dell, will it work ok if i install nt 1st then xp?im not big on games and yje ones i do have run good in xp, i dont have the package for nt cause i bought it at a garage sale w/ win95 and 3.11 for $20 (good deal in my opinion ) but they did come w/ keys.

  18. #18
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,394
    yes, you can install nt 1st then xp. This is because xp can read all of the file systems that nt uses. However, your nt wont read xp if your xp is using ntfs until you upgrade to the latest service pack in NT.
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  19. #19
    Member AltecXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    551
    ok whats the biggest hd nt can see it said that 20gb is to big

  20. #20
    Member roYal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,394
    well, with win2k, the only way for it to work with 1 full 20gig hd, is to let the win2k cd take care of the partitioning and let it format in ntfs4. With fat16, the biggest partition size is 2GB. So lets say you want the full 20GB using fat16, you have to create 10 2GB partitions, so you'll have 10 different drive letters all 2GB each.
    Cpu: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.5ghz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
    Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) OCZ Gold DDR3 1600 @ 533 mhz (8-8-8-24)
    Hard Drives: 1 x 120gb Intel 320 ssd (System) / 1TB WD (Storage)
    Cooling: TRUE w/Nexus 120mm
    Video: EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Monitor: 2x 24" Dell U2401 (1900x1200)
    Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi ExtremeGamer / Sennheiser HD595 Headphones
    Power: Corsair HX620W
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •