Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    35

    please help asus

    just got the a7v333 ok now my old epox board had a program on its Cd that had a m/b fan monitor and temp monitor which i really liked i cant seem to find a temp monitor for my cpu please help

  2. #2
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    531
    --------
    Last edited by A380; 11-23-13 at 01:59 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    774
    Go to Asus and put search for probe and you can get the program if you don't have the disk. I have tried motherboard monitor 5 with it but it doesn't work. I don't think its updated for the a7v333. Probe works fine on it but the temps do seem to be too high IMO.

  4. #4
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    531
    --------
    Last edited by A380; 11-23-13 at 01:59 PM.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    45
    PC proce should be on that cd under software
    supposively asus probe isnt taht accurate though.... its more of a estimate i hear

  6. #6
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    1,900
    When I first got my Asus A7V333, I tried to install PC Probe offf of the CD. It never worked . It would crash constantly, and I never could get a reading, EVER. There's supposed to be an updated version on the Asus site (somewhere). I havn't found it, nor do I want to. I run Motherboard Monitor 5 and it works great
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  7. #7
    Member willlangford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Wash., USA, Earth, Milky Way
    Posts
    1,161
    i have an a7v333, and its a crappy board. pc probe sometimes works. i will never get an asus again.

  8. #8
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    531
    --------
    Last edited by A380; 11-23-13 at 02:07 PM.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    35

    nope

    i downloaded the asus probe and it says invalid chipset....hmmm any other program works?

  10. #10
    Member Borgy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Canada/was England
    Posts
    402
    My Asus Probe V2.15.00 sucks on my A7v266-E it reads 20'c (apx) too high
    get a compunurse or something ... thats what i have now
    Asus probe reads 48-50'c
    my compunurse reads cpu temp 28'c
    room temp 26'C
    water temp 27'C
    just 2'c warmer than room temp ... gota love water cooling
    Dont buy it ....MAKE IT

  11. #11
    Member Gregory_WE's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,251
    Yeah Asus P4T533-C is a good board.

    I'm not sure on the accuracy of PCProbe either... my idle is like 30C and under load is 41C.

  12. #12
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    531
    --------
    Last edited by A380; 11-23-13 at 02:07 PM.

  13. #13
    Member Roadkill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Regina, SK Canada
    Posts
    269
    PC Probe works well for me. CPU is = on both PCprobe and MBM5, the MB temps are however one degree lower on MBM5.

    The latest MBM5 supports Asus, and will report both the temps reported by the 1011 BIOS (A7V333) and the CPU diode.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    144
    The accuracy of pc probe is only as accurate as the calibration of the thermal reader. the way these thermal readers work is they change resistance as the heat rises significantly. the pc probe then reads the resistance of the thermal reader and runs a few calculations and gives you a calculation. Now the motherboard companies don't have time to calibrate the boards so they purchase the thermal readers in a lot. some of them produce higher resistances than what pc probe is expecting and some do the opposite. and what it realy comes down to is how much the motherboard manufactures payed for these readers. the more they pay, the more accurate the temp is read. Well chances are it is not very accurate since this is not a requirement for the motherboard to work! So they purchase less accurate ones just to give the person an idea what temp their cpu is running at.

    The truth is the cpu is running as much as + or - a couple of
    degrees.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •