Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    96

    problem(may be vid card)

    i got a problem ill be playing games and the game will just freeze and ull hear this weird noize i har with all games i play.note it usually freezes after a while of game playing 2-3 hours.im usinbg a amd xp 1800 with 318 pc 133 ram.go gig hard drive and nvidia tnt2 32 meg. id ont know what to do

    ps i know my vid cards limitations(i tryed morrowmind,uhhhhhh never again)im plying simple game a game called pristontale afree onling mmorpg.eng.pristontale.com

  2. #2
    Member RyanRichard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    195

    Exclamation

    this could be caused from many factors .ie overclocking
    you might want to run some stress testing on your unit to see if any one device is causing it to hang like that. furthermore, your video board is a lol bit older than most of the current ones :P, and it might not bve up to par on handling the graphics. :::BTW::: would help to know what games are crashing and what the seetings you have for them are at. sounds like it could just be as simple as fine tuining some seetings in BIOS or haveing a driver changed. Feel free to email. good luck
    Who set thatfire? :mad:
    Team 32

  3. #3
    Member steveyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    College Station, Texas
    Posts
    510
    WELCOME TO THE FORUMS

    WELCOME TO THE FORUMS

    I suggest you first update your drivers

    And are you currently overclocked? This might be a temperature problem. Please post your temps using your bios or with a program like "mother board monitor"

  4. #4
    cullam3n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,061
    What type of noise is it and where does it come from? I have a feeling that its the motherboard saying somethings too hot and its shutting it down.

    -PC
    Main - i5 3570K 4.8ghz | eVGA Z77 FTW | 2x GTX 670 2GB | 16GB DDR3 2133 | Toshiba Q-series 256GB | XFX 850w Black
    HTPC - Pentium G630 | Intel DH77EB | GT 620 | 4GB DDR3 1333 | OCZ Agility 3 60GB | Silverstone ST50F-P
    Big Screen Gaming - i5 2500K 4.4ghz | ASRock P67 Extreme4 | GTX 650 Ti BOOST | 8GB DDR3 2133 | Momentus XT 500GB | Corsair CX500
    Travel - UX32VD-DH71 | i7 3517U | 10GB DDR3 1600 | GT 620M --Ultrabook life
    13U Rack - Full of goodies...

    HeatWare

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    96
    thx 4 feed back guys im not overclocking and the sound is like an annnnnn.it comes from speakers and im play games on basic settings.and just today it actually glitched just from watching vids 4 awhile.aftr i crasg n retsart my temps only 109,im using an k7s5a .i want to set my cpu to 133 and dram to 100 but the is bios is gay for some reson i cant to that i can sett cpu to 100 and have ram at 133 when i press page up n down that comebo just isnt there.is there reason the disable this combo.

    i mentioned game i play pristontale

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    96
    oh yea forgot to mention morrowmind dont even work without detonator drivers but pritontale dont work witout old drivers.since morrowmind runs trrrible and still get prob anyway i use old drivers.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    96
    bump

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    96
    HELP

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    96
    its just glitche again while i was wathcing a movi

  10. #10
    Member Puer Aeternus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    In your head (Ottawa.Canada)
    Posts
    2,647
    K dude....breathe..I have the same prob...I thought it was bad mem....hot cpu and even a bad vid card. It is the detonator 30 driver in my case. Uninstall your Nvidia drivers...and reinstall version 29 from Nvidia.

    Post some specs about your rig so we can better help you.
    the link below takes you to the win 2000/xp driver page..there is a list of drivers, try version 29.
    I asume you have win xp..if not look for the win 98 drivers...good luck and please post back..I wanna see if I correct. it works for me!
    An Inflexible Belief System is B.S or I.B.S

    i5 4670K @ 4.4GHZ
    Water Cooling- Seidon 120m,
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC,
    8 g's Mushkin Blackline 1600 dd3,
    Radeon 7970 Diamond
    Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
    InWin Dragon Rider (case)
    Logitech G15

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    96
    link below?im not even using any detonator drivers.im using the ones on tha driver cd.

    specs
    xp1800
    60 gig
    320 ram(pc133 sd)
    k7s5a board
    cmedia 4.1 speaker card
    pny tnt2 32meg

    unusual im running at 100/100 and have had no freezes yet 4 awhile this sux why is 133/133 unstable 4 me?
    Last edited by mark2kay; 09-08-02 at 04:45 AM.

  12. #12
    Member Puer Aeternus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    In your head (Ottawa.Canada)
    Posts
    2,647
    http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=winxp-2k_archive
    Sorry, here is the link for the Win xp/2000 driver archive...of course if you have win 98 than do a search.

    Jeez dude, i thought u had a GeForce card, not a TNT..sorry that is why I posted about the drivers. My Bad
    An Inflexible Belief System is B.S or I.B.S

    i5 4670K @ 4.4GHZ
    Water Cooling- Seidon 120m,
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC,
    8 g's Mushkin Blackline 1600 dd3,
    Radeon 7970 Diamond
    Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
    InWin Dragon Rider (case)
    Logitech G15

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    96
    i ran sistran tune up wizard and i says my pci latency for my lan and videocard is 2 high.

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    96
    put em up homey

  15. #15
    Member Puer Aeternus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    In your head (Ottawa.Canada)
    Posts
    2,647
    Put em up?...like duke it out? Like a 5 brother sandwhich?
    Rattle yer teeth? Face probe?.."waht u 'Talkin 'bout Willis"?
    An Inflexible Belief System is B.S or I.B.S

    i5 4670K @ 4.4GHZ
    Water Cooling- Seidon 120m,
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC,
    8 g's Mushkin Blackline 1600 dd3,
    Radeon 7970 Diamond
    Win 7 64bit, Antec Earth Watts 650w
    InWin Dragon Rider (case)
    Logitech G15

  16. #16
    Member JimboZ88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Vancouver B.C. Canadia...yes, Canadia
    Posts
    232

    uh-huh

    i have the k7s5a, and it won't let me change the ram or cpu frequency over 100. i tried 133 on both, then had to flash the bios cause it wouldn't work. i have no idea what the prob is, but if you did change it, it wouldn't make too much of a difference. try defragging!!! primitive but full of benefits and rich in vitamin C!

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    96
    defragging that never did anything

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •