Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    58

    XP and SETI Problem

    Hello, I just loaded XP on my system & did update SetiSpy to current version. Now when I open SetiSpy to do some crunching I get an (mirosoft) error and it kills SetiSpy but SetiDriver stays open??? I choose exit & then restart and it works fine ???

    BTW I have no updates running on XP right now.
    Thx for the help, llubon

  2. #2
    Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me... rogerdugans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Corner of No and Where
    Posts
    5,956
    I don't use Spy anymore, but I do run SetiDriver on XP- both pre- and post- SP1. No problems with Driver.

    Question: I know that a new version of Spy just came out- which version are you using? Try the other version

    If that doesn't work you may want to try messing with Compatibility modes.
    Still overclocked and running linux on watercooled computers after all these years.

  3. #3
    Senior Member OSUmaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    2,379
    I asked that question not too long ago. If you look in the setispy pdf help file, there is an option (in the .ini file) to add a wait period when it starts up. This fixes that problem completely.

  4. #4
    Super Shark Moderator
    LandShark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
    Posts
    8,073
    have Spy open when startup XP delay is the best way. or you could try to set the compatible (right click on short cut, propertise) to Win2k and disable the visual effect. this might help also.
    ~~~ Currently Inactive Mode ~~~

    Got SOLD? MOVE your own thread!


    Folding User Stats
    How many GHz of Intel + Nvidia folding power? Dunno! Lost count!

    | F@H Vista Sidebar gadget | F@H Yahoo Widget | F@H iGoogle gadget |

    | My Heatware | My New HTPC 3.0: Server/Client setup + Better energy efficiency |

  5. #5
    Senior A64 Killer {PMS}fishy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    8,673
    I use Driver with XP & SP1 with no problems.

    Spy on the other hand is nothing but trouble with XP, but its fine on 2k.
    Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

    Trouble Shooting 101:
    1. RTFM
    2. Repeat Step 1

    6ghz Club Member.


    cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?

  6. #6
    heezer7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Out looking for ET... in IL, USA
    Posts
    805
    well i have been haveing problems wiytht he new seti spy in windows 2000 too. it crashes on load up and other stuff. stats don't update. i just stopped using it for now.
    Crunching.for.Overclockers.com!
    Team Rank: 29th Crunchin' as JHeizer
    920 i7 @ 4Ghz 560 & 550ti | X6 MythTV MBE | 3x Atom Ion MythTV FE | Atom D2500 PFSense | E1505 C2D CARPC
    Lots of SETI Power! | Heat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •