Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me... rogerdugans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Corner of No and Where
    Posts
    5,956

    "New" rig on the Farm...

    I've been working on a little project the last couple of weeks, and finally finished it all up:

    1 case with 2 motherboards, 3 cpus and a hub for a small Diskless Cluster
    This thing has a total of 3Ghz of Crunching Power and should be putting out about 11 or 12 wu per day by itself...plus any other Diskless Client nodes that get hooked into the hub- and there is room for 6 more.

    Not bad for one power cable

    Still overclocked and running linux on watercooled computers after all these years.

  2. #2
    Senior Member SpeeDj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    2,494
    That is COOL Where'd you dream that one up? Wondering just what the basis case is for your mod there Roger. Care to fill us in?

    J
    :: SpeeDj™®© :eek: :: Hiatus - hi·a·tus - n 1: an interruption in the intensity or amount of something 2: a missing piece :: Join our Team! :: [OCG] :: My Heatware :: Forum FAQ's & Guidelines

    .: Seti @ Home Team BoD ... ET Phone Home ?
    :: Learn to Overclock @ www.overclockers.com

    .: I wear the pink ribbon in loving memory of my Aunt Cheryl : 1948 - 2004 | And for Nedclocker's Sharon : 1962 - 2003 |
    :: Seti@Home ::
    SetiStats :: S@W
    :: Folding@Home ::
    FoldingStats :: MoreStats
    :: "Got Dual?" - Cyklopz
    :: "Got Hosting?" :]
    :: The wind whispers of change to come...
    :: -- OCG : OverClockedGamerz "How fast can you frag?"
    :: -- Home for the Overclockers.com Gaming Clans!

  3. #3
    Senior Seti Addict TC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    7,504
    Very cool Doug!! What kind of case is that?

  4. #4

    Codeman05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    1,836
    wow thats awesome! Nice work
    mITX Gaming Desktop: i5-3570k | 8GB DDR3 | MSI GTX 780 | Samsung 240GB SSD | 3x 25" 1080p Surround
    Home Server: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHz | 8GB DDR2-1066 | 3ware 9650 | Norco 2U RPC-2008
    Heatware: 87-0-0 HWbot
    Goodbye to texas university...

  5. #5
    Member Mr.DLucey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,185
    Two monitors too? You could play against your self. But really good job. Nice case too.
    E6600 @2.99GHz - DFI Infinity P965 Dark - 4GB PC6400 - WD 300GB Raptor - WD 74GB Raptor - Radeon HD 3850 256MB - Vista Business
    E6420 @2.13GHz - Asrock 4Core DualVSTA - 4GB PC 6400 - WD 120GB IDE - Sapphire HD 3850 512MB - XP Home

  6. #6
    Member Go3Team's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    157
    Must be a big case or two really small mobos . Thats something I need to look into, as my farm is making its way into the kitchen Cant really do much in a 1 bdrm apt.



  7. #7
    Senior Seti Addict TC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    7,504
    Originally posted by Go3Team
    Must be a big case or two really small mobos . Thats something I need to look into, as my farm is making its way into the kitchen Cant really do much in a 1 bdrm apt.


    Thank you for posting this - I truly no longer feel like I have a problem with computer hardware

  8. #8
    Senior Member Yodums's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    12,405
    Well, that's one heck of a neat idea and I spy an 8KHA+

    Awsome work!
    Peter Gibbons: Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you're not feelin' real well, does anyone ever say to you, 'Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays'?

    Lawrence: No. No, man. ****, no, man. I believe you'd get your ass kicked sayin' something like that, man.

  9. #9
    Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me... rogerdugans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Corner of No and Where
    Posts
    5,956
    More Details and some more pics

    The idea came from getting such a HUGE case- Compaq Proliant 1500.
    Originally had a P90 and 5 drive scsi raid array in it.

    I've seen some pics of cluster setups people have done that were great; usually they are open to kids and animals, etc . though...so when I got hold of that monster case, it was just about a natural

    The idea of cleaning up my Ghetto Farm was also in my head anyway......

    Boards are an Acorp P3 Duallie and AOpen AK73Pro- all the sdram boards I have left, and they are full size atx boards!
    I still need to work on airflow some: case temp is about 34c and the P3s are 42c and 44c, which is higher than they have ever been. I haven't gotten temp monitoring working on the Diskless Clients yet, so I don't know what the TBird is running at.....

    The two ATX psu's that are mounted in the psu box (along with the power for the hub) have 92mm intake and exhaust, but the case itself only has 120s for intake and exhaust: at least one more intake is need I think: 1ghz P3s @1050 and TBird 900@954 put out a bit too much heat for that airflow.

    Window will be happening at some point.
    Last edited by rogerdugans; 10-02-02 at 11:37 PM.
    Still overclocked and running linux on watercooled computers after all these years.

  10. #10
    Super Shark Moderator
    LandShark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
    Posts
    8,073
    nice work Roger!!

    and yeah, that first thing i had in mind is cooling! w/ 2 machines, 3 cpus in it, you'll need good airflow!

    btw, Go3Team, are you using those cpu/heatsink to fry eggs??!!
    ~~~ Currently Inactive Mode ~~~

    Got SOLD? MOVE your own thread!


    Folding User Stats
    How many GHz of Intel + Nvidia folding power? Dunno! Lost count!

    | F@H Vista Sidebar gadget | F@H Yahoo Widget | F@H iGoogle gadget |

    | My Heatware | My New HTPC 3.0: Server/Client setup + Better energy efficiency |

  11. #11
    Member racecar12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    mid-tn
    Posts
    981
    LOL...You beat me to the dual m/b case. Great job rogerdugans

    My idea was to make extensions for a m/b stack x2 in one case. That way all the acc cables would be out the back.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •