Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 39

Thread: Project DACP

  1. #1
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634

    Project DACP

    Project Dual Air Cooled Pelts
    What im using
    1/2 Aluminum cold plate(if someone has some copper to donate toward this its is more than accepted)
    Dual 80watt Pelts - thanks to Klownin, also may need another
    Dual Svc Goldengates striped off shroud, making new one- Thankyou Joker F15
    High output 80mm or 92mm fan - Need 1 50-80cfm- still havent gotten, i may try a 120
    Insulation
    <edit> also need AS3 or preferably AS2 - Thankyou Iron Hawk!

    if anyone would be willing to donate any of these things i need it would be very much apreciated, because im on a budget of about 10 dollars max</edit>

    what i have to do is lap the cold plate a ton more, its really convex, then drill the 4 holes and tap them and drill 4 holes in each heatsink to clamp the pelts between.
    make shrouds for the heatsinks after I get it all stuck together, so a 80mm fan sucks out of both heatsinks, vertically

    then after i get that made, i have to make a hold down mecanism that wont be too difficult

    i would have pics rite now, BUT my batteries in the camera are dead

    what do you all think? need some experts like silver over here

    i do plan on watercooling them later on.
    Last edited by JFettig; 10-14-02 at 08:54 PM.
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  2. #2
    Member Ct. Strangelove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    bleek abyss
    Posts
    656
    Interesting. Sorry i can't any real input. Why as2 over as3?

  3. #3
    Has slightly less legible writing
    than Thideras, Member
    ssjwizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Posts
    5,024
    as3 is designed with a slightly lower conductivity but smaller particles so it fits into the gaps easier. as2 has larger particles and less lube but higher conductivity cus of its better silver content. as2 is better for petling than as3 cus it will stay in place as3 will move around.
    Life is what you make of it, we exist for the sole purpose of existing. Dont waste the universe efforts!
    All statements, imagery, and ideas contained within any signatures are merely retold tales of fictional acts by a figment of the universe imagination.

    So your looking for an AMD FX motherboard, things you need to know. Whats the max safe temps/volts for an FX?

    Green Gorilla, CM 690-II nVidia, FX 8320, GTX 670, liquid cooled
    Liquid Fusion, CM 690-II, A8+6670 Dual GFX, liquid cooled
    Extreme evaporative water loop 450mm^3 water cooled beast - Incomplete

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Groton, CT
    Posts
    2,181
    masked, i got some AS2 to send you, email or pm me your address.

  5. #5
    Member Ct. Strangelove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    bleek abyss
    Posts
    656
    Intersting info on AS2 and 3. So AS2 is better becuase it won't move around? I am afraid i don't understand that. But i do understand the part of it be a better conductor.

  6. #6
    Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior Wicked Klown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    5,495
    I have an 80 watt pelt.
    Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

    HEAT

    "Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Groton, CT
    Posts
    2,181
    Originally posted by Ct. Strangelove
    Intersting info on AS2 and 3. So AS2 is better becuase it won't move around? I am afraid i don't understand that. But i do understand the part of it be a better conductor.
    AS2 is thicker than AS3. AS2 was developed into AS3 because the smaller particles worked better as a TIM between the Die and the Heatdisperser (wb or hs or coldplate). However the larger particles in the AS2 work better for the TEC application.

  8. #8
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    sweet man! klownin YGPM
    Iron Hawk, i IMed you on msn

    ill have pics when i restart
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  9. #9
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    ok heres the pics guys! note the peltier there is an unknown wattage, so i am not using that, and the sunnon is a low cfm 80mm fan that im also not using, its just for size comparison and all






    Last edited by JFettig; 10-05-02 at 11:36 PM.
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  10. #10
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    i couldnt add this to that last one because of all the stuff...not spamming

    i should also mention its a vertical cold plate, and give Silver the credit he deserves he made the first DWCP dual watercooled peltiers rig
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  11. #11
    Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior Wicked Klown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    5,495
    That Sunon 80mm you got looks like the one I have. By any chance is it rated at 50c.f.m.
    Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

    HEAT

    "Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus

  12. #12
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    i have no clue on what its rated, ill hook it up and see what it feels like...

    -edit-
    im guessing its around 35cfm, it has some good power tho, like able to keep pressure if its blocked....
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  13. #13
    Senior Citizen (aka old fart) Silver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Georgia
    Posts
    4,127
    Just want to keep track of this project of masked geek. Go for it. It will work. I just know it but it may take some thinking and that is right up your alley.

    Get Donny Paycheck in here as he is one of the few that I know who ran an xp on an air cooled 80w pelt. This is not the same but his input on that single will prove useful.

    Go thin on the cold plate but I would not V it on the first as you made need the storage of the full block.
    Last edited by Silver; 10-06-02 at 08:02 AM.

    Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
    3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
    2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
    P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
    Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
    Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
    Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
    Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
    C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
    C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

    FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

    Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!

  14. #14
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    go thin? you mean go 1/2 inch? im running a palimino, that would be kinda hard to get it perfectly centered wouldnt it?
    as for the V i dont have tools for that yet, but some day i will and ill try something like that

    i do have most of this project planned out, i gotta talk to the other person who has the other peltier for me, get a fan, and get another svc goldengate... i dont quite have that much money, ill see what i can do, im planning on using like a delta 68 or something on it, not a tornado because i dont think i could handle the noize, maby if i can get a tornado with a rheo.....

    one question for you on the insulation, ill have the block insulated, the inside of the socket insulated, die electric greese in the pinholes, and with this setup, do i really need a gasket around the socket?
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  15. #15
    Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior Wicked Klown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sheboygan, Wisconsin
    Posts
    5,495
    I'd put one around it just to be safe.
    Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

    HEAT

    "Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus

  16. #16
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    well i honestly dont see were condensation would form besides on the bottom side of the chip, the and the socket, because the cold plate does not extend past the chip.... i may have to mount this with the lugs also... ill look into making a clip, i would also prefer to mount it like that
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  17. #17
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    heres some pics, i have to mount it this way so i can get the heatsinks level, i also have to cut away some of it for the ziff lever thingy,

    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  18. #18
    Senior Citizen (aka old fart) Silver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Georgia
    Posts
    4,127
    Got a caliber? If so measure length and width on the core. Try to mount the coldplate along the length of the core. I've got 9.5mm or exactly 3/8" on the core. A 3/8 inch plate will make the tolerance close. If you have an 1/2 inch plate then go with it. This is after all a sort of prototype. With the cold plate being 2" in length then some insulation under it at the outer edges will be required. Cut a piece of mouse pad (without the cloth) to fit in the socket then coat all within the socket with GE silicone (hardware store) and place the piece of mouse pad into the socket, let it dry. On the back of the mobo all I did was to lay down some silicone aroung the socket area. Make sure you do the silicon work first and then after it is dry go with the dielectric grease in the socket pin holes. Got to kind of work it in. Used most of a small tube of dielectric grease the first time. Now I just touch it up when I take the cpu out. On the top of the processor I coated all electrical contacts with one coat of clear (non-metalic containing) nail polish. The includes the modified bridge but take care as the carrier in the nail polish with take the bridge off. One light quick swipe. Insulation around all of the coldplate is necessary and I will tell you how on the cheap next go. Take Care.

    Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
    3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
    2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
    P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
    Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
    Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
    Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
    Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
    C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
    C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

    FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

    Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!

  19. #19
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    alrite, i have a palimino so i think im gonna go for a 1/2 cold plate on your request, you found better temps with thinner cold plate?
    i know most of the stuff on insulating, just makin sure i dont have to do a few things like a gasket around the socket, i got the die electric grease and the silicone, rtv silicone, how bout under the socket? or isnt that a problem? as for mounting, got any ideas? i think im gonna use the lugs unless i can figure out how to make a 4 hole holddown, ill have to see the sizes of everything when its put together,
    i plan on using a 120mm 100cfm fan, i got most of my insulation cut from a mouse pad, and my previus little phaze change project

    would just regular tape work to cover the bridges?

    thnx

    -edit- no i dont have a caliper, im gona order one when i order my mill
    Last edited by JFettig; 10-07-02 at 03:50 PM.
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

  20. #20
    Hey! I showered! Senior JFettig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    7,634
    crap, im down a pelt, the other dude found out they are only 60watt peltiers...
    ||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
    ||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •