• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to add fans

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

quiksilvr00

I'm new at all this, so don't blow me off please. My question is, if I add a fans to my system, how do I get them power. My power supply has only one remaining 4 pin cord coming off it and I was wondering if I need to have any special connectors or anything like that. Any websites w/ how to info would be cool too. I hope to one day build an awesome system so I'll probably be visiting this site often. Thanks

Some fans have a 3 wire connector that will plug onto your motherboard if it has those connectors. Other fans have a 4 wire connector that will plug onto your power supply connector. They usually have a male on one end and a female on the other so you dont lose a power connection when you plug it in. There are also power y adaptors out there that will turn one connector from your power supply into two.

Welcome quiksilvr00 ! You came to the right place to learn about overclocking and building computers in general. You won't be blown off here. Feel free to ask ANY questions. The members here love to help. The moderators are great, and along with the Senior members will be on top of rude or hostile behavior like stink on ..... :) . The beginners guides are wonderful. I've read most more than once. They are a good starting point and will help get you started safely.