Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29
  1. #1
    Inactive Moderator larva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5,537

    played with a fresh 2.0a yesterday

    I built a 2.0a for a customer yesterday, had the opportunity to play with it a little before they picked it up. I believe the pack date was 9/13, and the chip had potential. It ran 2.66 (133fsb) at stock voltage, and 2.8 (140fsb) with 1.6V. It posted at 3GHz but locked entering windows at 1.7V. This was on a P4S333.
    Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
    CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
    MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
    Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
    Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
    Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
    Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
    Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
    ---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Brooklyn Park MN
    Posts
    489
    After my experiences with a C1 Celly 2.0, I'm waiting for the C1 Northy 2.0. With any luck I should be able to pick one up after the first of the year. Oh my god, 2003 already.
    postcount-quality over quantity, means as much to me as megahertz does to AMD

    heat

  3. #3
    Member jdmcnudgent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    tOLEDO, OHIO, the heart of it all!
    Posts
    4,683
    Originally posted by lyle
    After my experiences with a C1 Celly 2.0, I'm waiting for the C1 Northy 2.0. With any luck I should be able to pick one up after the first of the year. Oh my god, 2003 already.
    you said that right.

  4. #4
    Member FIZZ3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NL, Europe
    Posts
    3,127

    Re: played with a fresh 2.0a yesterday

    Originally posted by larva
    I built a 2.0a for a customer yesterday, had the opportunity to play with it a little before they picked it up. I believe the pack date was 9/13, and the chip had potential. It ran 2.66 (133fsb) at stock voltage, and 2.8 (140fsb) with 1.6V. It posted at 3GHz but locked entering windows at 1.7V. This was on a P4S333.
    Guess you didn't run stability tests given the short time you worked with the chip?
    Desktop:
    Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
    Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
    2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
    Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
    Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

    Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
    Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel

  5. #5
    Registered Manual Shutdown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Jarvis, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    52
    do you think i'd be able to reach 2.66 using a p4-te?

  6. #6
    Member FIZZ3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NL, Europe
    Posts
    3,127
    Originally posted by Manual Shutdown
    do you think i'd be able to reach 2.66 using a p4-te?
    With a 2.0A? I think you might well reach that goal, but the less optimal P4T-E will lower your chances slightly. It's hard to say yes or no to a question like this because so much luck of the draw is involved.
    Desktop:
    Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
    Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
    2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
    Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
    Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

    Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
    Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel

  7. #7
    Inactive Moderator larva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5,537

    Re: Re: played with a fresh 2.0a yesterday

    Originally posted by FIZZ3


    Guess you didn't run stability tests given the short time you worked with the chip?
    It was stable at 140fsb/2.8GHz. I played quake online for over an hour. If any other test tripped it up a touch more voltage would have cleared it up, I was only running 1.6V. I just mentioned this to tell people that late pack date 2.0a's are of similar core quality to the other late model pre C1 Northwoods. For applications where extreme fsb is not possible it is a decent solution at the low price they are available at.
    Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
    CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
    MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
    Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
    Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
    Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
    Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
    Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
    ---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860

  8. #8
    Member Ri0_6667's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kamloops, BC
    Posts
    152
    Hey, I have a p4s333 with 2.0A, have no idea what the shipping date was. Also kingmax ddr 333 ram with lots of cooling + volcano 7+ / Artic Silver 3 and i cant get past 2.44ghz. Have no idea why, even at 1.7v. Very cool temperatures, 29c idle 33c load. Just cant figure this out Please help.
    Digital_Statik@hotmail.com - Dave

  9. #9
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Manassas,Virginia
    Posts
    1,073

    Re: played with a fresh 2.0a yesterday

    Originally posted by larva
    I built a 2.0a for a customer yesterday, had the opportunity to play with it a little before they picked it up. I believe the pack date was 9/13, and the chip had potential. It ran 2.66 (133fsb) at stock voltage, and 2.8 (140fsb) with 1.6V. It posted at 3GHz but locked entering windows at 1.7V. This was on a P4S333.

    not to be rude but what the hell are you doing overclocking someone computer without thier permision? Imean you coulda hurt the thing for all i know. Geeze im never ganna buy something from you

  10. #10
    Member tom_ozahoski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Folding in Port St. John FLORIDA
    Posts
    180

    Re: Re: played with a fresh 2.0a yesterday

    Originally posted by residentevil2



    not to be rude but what the hell are you doing overclocking someone computer without thier permision? Imean you coulda hurt the thing for all i know. Geeze im never ganna buy something from you

    If you don't have something nice to say don't say anything at all
    FOLD for Team 32!
    heat

    Air Force!

  11. #11
    Inactive Moderator larva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5,537

    Re: Re: played with a fresh 2.0a yesterday

    Originally posted by residentevil2



    not to be rude but what the hell are you doing overclocking someone computer without thier permision? Imean you coulda hurt the thing for all i know. Geeze im never ganna buy something from you
    Well you are right about one thing, you are rude as hell. If I knew as little as you, I would not have attempted it. Some of us are not a liability around hardware.

    BTW, at this point it was still my computer. The customer had not paid for it, but I had. It was still my property. If I had damaged it I could not of sold the machine.

    And don't worry, I wouldn't sell to you anyway. The last thing I need is another complaining source of irritation.

    My only reason for posting this info is to share some of my experience with others, so they might know more. People learn through experience, and I freely share mine. I understand you would have difficulty understanding that some people are highly capable and experienced, considering your own level of capability.
    Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
    CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
    MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
    Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
    Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
    Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
    Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
    Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
    ---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860

  12. #12
    Inactive Moderator larva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5,537

    sorry man, sounds like you've already done the right things

    Originally posted by Ri0_6667
    Hey, I have a p4s333 with 2.0A, have no idea what the shipping date was. Also kingmax ddr 333 ram with lots of cooling + volcano 7+ / Artic Silver 3 and i cant get past 2.44ghz. Have no idea why, even at 1.7v. Very cool temperatures, 29c idle 33c load. Just cant figure this out Please help.
    Digital_Statik@hotmail.com - Dave
    Dave,

    It sounds to me like your chip only has 2.44GHz in it. Regardless of claims and exceptional examples, most early northwoods only have 2.4 GHz in them. My personal 1.6a runs like a jewel at 2400MHz, but crashes and burns at 2413 regardless of heatsink/fan and cpu voltage. Knowing it was not realistic to expect more than 2400MHz, I chose the 1.6a to have the lowest multiplier and thus the highest fsb. This makes the most of your 2400MHz.

    The early 2.0a's where a dissapointment for many overclockers. Many did not reach the 2.44GHz that yours does. As time passes, the core quality that chip manufacturers produce improves. This was the point of my post. It is realistic to expect 2.8-3GHz with current examples, even ones that in the past were lackluster overclockers. Sorry I can't tell you how to make your chip run like the later ones. At some point you have to accept the physical reality that chips have finite limits that cannot be overcome, and sometimes at lower levels than we would like. The C1 stepping northwoods have been achieving 3-3.4GHz, another step up from the late model pre-C1 chips like the 2.0a I played with

    We can provide more cpu voltage, cool the chip well, and make sure there are no other factors in the system that limit the overclock, but in the end if the chip only has 2.44 in it nothing short of extreme cooling will have any impact on this, and the chip's life will be shortened considerably by applying extreme voltage and cooling in an effort to extract 2.6GHz from a chip that only has 2.44 in it.
    Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
    CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
    MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
    Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
    Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
    Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
    Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
    Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
    ---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Aland islands, Finland
    Posts
    41
    As larva said, the cpus have their limits. In the case of the P4 the limits seems to be very sharp too. My P4 2,0A (packdate 07/29/02) boots in to windows at 2,86GHz (1,63v.) but does not even post when upping the bus 1MHz to 144, 2,88GHz (1,75v.).

    I have now added a lot better cooling, but the limits are the same. 2,81GHz with 1,63v. is what I use now.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for the information larva...it is appreciated

  15. #15
    Member EgeWorks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    475
    Just adding to the 2.0a stuff, mine is 100% Prime 95 stable at 2.92Ghz, nothing higher though. It will get to 2.6Ghz at 1.55v. I'm toasting it at the moment with 1.8v but the watercooling keeps load temps under 40C.

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Aland islands, Finland
    Posts
    41
    I have to change what I said earlier in this thread. I just did the vid pin wire wrap thing and can now get voltages higher than 1,75 volt. With 1,86 volt I can get a lot higher it seems. It is a little early to say how high but at the moment Im testing the far side of 2,9GHz. Seems promising!

  17. #17
    Inactive Moderator larva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5,537

    Just hope you aren't married to that chip

    1.86V will often buy you more clock speed, but you are basically forcing the chip to operate at a level it is not capable of. That level of voltage will drastically shorten the chip's life, if not kill it in short order. Northwoods don't like the far side of 1.75V, as far as I'm concerned that is not an option.

    Of course, a dead cpu isn't the end of the world. Yours might last as long as it needs to at 1.86v, and if it doesn't a fresh 1.8a or 2.0a likely won't need all that voltage to get to 2.9
    Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
    CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
    MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
    Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
    Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
    Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
    Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
    Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
    ---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Aland islands, Finland
    Posts
    41

    Re: Just hope you aren't married to that chip

    1,86 volt is as far as Im willing to go, I think. It also depends on the end result. If its worth it I`ll use it, otherwise not. Of course I do not want to burn my chip but if that happens there are plenty of fairly cheap P4:s to pick from.

    My problem is that my memorys limit is around 180MHz (360MHz ddr) meaning that I have to get better memory if I want to have any real gain from going over 2,87GHz. Im now trying 2,99GHz with memory at 1/1. If this is stable then I will buy a stick of 400MHz memory. 3,01Ghz crasched in prime95. It would be tempting to raise the voltage, but enough is enough...

  19. #19
    Member Silver arrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Europe.
    Posts
    164

    Re: Re: Re: played with a fresh 2.0a yesterday

    Originally posted by larva
    BTW, at this point it was still my computer. The customer had not paid for it, but I had. It was still my property. If I had damaged it I could not of sold the machine.
    Well it still doesn't make it right. Overclocking someone else's-to-be computer without his/her consent, is wrong. But of course, since you are so experienced, it makes it alright? Who are you to decide for the computer's owner-to-be, that OCing his machine without owner's knowledge is OK? OK, so you didn't damage anything short term. But what if there are long-term consequences (I know this sounds vague, but it's a valid point). How can you be 100% sure of that?

    And how would you feel if a bartender would spit in your drink? Would you mind, even if he was an experienced spitter?


    I understand you would have difficulty understanding that some people are highly capable and experienced, considering your own level of capability.
    And you are highly capable and experianced? Doing what? Assembling computers?


    I don't appreciate sharing of your tremendous experience, because this "experiment" was done "unethically", if you will.


    And don't flame me, I have the right of my opinion and I have the right to tell larva that he did wrong. Ppl like this just **** me off. The sad thing is he is one of many.

  20. #20
    Registered Manual Shutdown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Jarvis, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    52
    he did say though that the customer hadn't paid for it yet. if something has gone wrong and something had gotten fried it was still his computer and he could by a replacement (at his own expense) and the buyer would still get his new computer

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •