Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member Greg M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    Posts
    1,462

    Steenking Power Failures!!!

    We had a power outage at the office early Sunday morning. Fortunately most of our servers are on UPS. Our production numbers will be reduced slightly. Sorry gang.

  2. #2
    Senior A64 Killer {PMS}fishy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    8,673
    How big are the UPS's that you guys have there at work? I know you have some pretty serious machines.
    Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

    Trouble Shooting 101:
    1. RTFM
    2. Repeat Step 1

    6ghz Club Member.


    cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?

  3. #3
    Member Greg M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    Posts
    1,462
    We have 2 3kVA's running on 208V. We have more systems than UPS so we have a few servers and several desktops without UPS .
    Last edited by Greg M; 10-22-02 at 09:22 AM.

  4. #4
    Disabled DDR-PIII's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    6p6
    Posts
    5,671
    yeahsame here too i dont even know why the power is going out ...l no bad weather i've been knocked down about 2 a day since the power crap.

  5. #5
    Member Go3Team's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    157
    Anyone know how to build a home built UPS?

  6. #6
    Member Greg M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    Posts
    1,462
    It's probably best not to go there. Buy a UL listed UPS.

  7. #7
    Super Shark Moderator
    LandShark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
    Posts
    8,073
    yeah, i just had 2 power failure last week. good thing is it's only for 10-20sec. and i have ups on all of my machines. (have to learn this the hard way tho!!)

    Go3Team, you'd better off just go buy some "sunday coupon onsale" one. check your local newspaper, bestbuy/compusa/office depot/etc. they have ups for like $20-40 once awhile.
    ~~~ Currently Inactive Mode ~~~

    Got SOLD? MOVE your own thread!


    Folding User Stats
    How many GHz of Intel + Nvidia folding power? Dunno! Lost count!

    | F@H Vista Sidebar gadget | F@H Yahoo Widget | F@H iGoogle gadget |

    | My Heatware | My New HTPC 3.0: Server/Client setup + Better energy efficiency |

  8. #8
    Member Go3Team's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    157
    Originally posted by LandShark
    they have ups for like $20-40 once awhile.
    That I can live with.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •