Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    6

    Help a overclocking and a AMD virgin

    To day the rest of my parts for my up grade came. This is my first AMD system and my first time doing a CPU/HSF install. I went from a Cel 400 to a Duron 750 HSF is a OCZ Monster 2. The problem I am having is the temp readings can not be right. I get 29c for system temp and 38c for idle temps. I over clocked it to 825 7.5 x 110 default voltage and the idiol temp only went up 1c-2 39-40 no way this HSF could do this well. I think the problem is I had to push the temp diod down a tiny bit to get the CPU all the way into the socket. I would uninstall the CPU and re-adjust the diod but I think I cracked the CPU core I am a moron I know. The 2 questions are how can I get better temp reading with out taking off the HSF? This duron rocks so much I am going to upgrade to a T-bird in a month or 2. Is there any different HSF that don't use clips I don't want to crush a t-bird core? Or would it be better to get a glaciator and have a pro install it? BTW I backed back down to 750 till I can get better temp readings.

    Quest the core crusher
    Duron 750(7.5x100) Probly chipped core
    Abit KT7A
    IBM deskstar 60 20g 7200 RPM
    Hercules 4500
    128m cas 2 133 crucial ram
    crappy diamond sound card
    USR 56k modem.
    Full tower case 1 fan blowing into the case and only the PSU fan to exhast the air out.

  2. #2
    Senior Member outhouse's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Auburn California
    Posts
    1,864
    WELCOME TO THE FORUM

    if you want to get better temps [more accurate] one way or another the HSF has to come off. there are other HSF's that use a more freindly clip but if you a little more careful you should not have a problem, it's a bummer that AMD's core's are thin. someone else should post soon with a more freindly HSF for you.

    good luck
    GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

    p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
    leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

    XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

    8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc

    4790K @ 4.8, Z87 EVGA FTW. 8g Corsair vengance pro, EK cpu and waterblocks. DDC. 240x2 120x1, EVGA 780TI SLI

  3. #3
    Member AMDGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    731
    Most AMD cores are crushed because the heatsink is held at an angle when trying to connect the clip. It's imperative that the HSF assembly be completely flat on the die BEFORE attempting to seat the clip on either side. I have been careful about this and never cracked a core. The pads on the CPU are there to cushion and protect the die from this type of pressure, but if you're holding the HSF at an angle to get one side of the clip on, then pushing down to get the other side on, then the pressure is greater on one area of the die and thus it tends to crack.

    Moral of the story, just make sure you seat the HSF assembly squarely on the cpu before connecting the clip and you'll be fine.
    -AMDGuy
    Guess I need to change my username?
    i5 750 @ 4.01Ghz (191 x 21 with EIST enabled)
    1.32500 Vcore 1.15 Vtt
    Gigabyte P55 UD3R
    4GB OCZ Platinum 1333

  4. #4
    Member Randall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    124
    I've got a Swiftech, and BOY! is it a nice install.. its got two clips that just hook onto the socket lugs, and the spring screws handle the rest... a couple of other good fans i've seen <i don't remember the models> but there was an Alpha that I had that was really nice, and a GlobalWin <i think that's what it was...> that a buddy loaned me... it worked well... but if you really want to air-cool and overclock that badboy Tbird... Swiftech MC462... that beast will surely make your oc'ing dreams much more lucid! hope this helps..

  5. #5
    Administratively Deficient Thelemac's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Canton, MI
    Posts
    4,806
    A better way to get an idea of your temps is to get a loaded temp...an idle temps only tells you how well your BIOS allows you to send the HLT signal to the cpu.

    The way I look at temps is this....if you're stable (try Hoot's method) then your temps are probably fine. If you're unstable, then you might worry about them. Assuming you have the voltage up and such.
    42 | Sig Assassin

    *click*

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    6

    Ok I ran a program named CPU stability test.

    I ran this for an hour and 35 min is this enough time? I upped the core voltage to 1.725 but left the clock at default 7.5x100. At idle temps were CPU 41-42c system temp was 32c it was a hot day for minnesota 88f in the house. After an hour and a half temps were a steady 45c for the CPU system temp was 32c. This test really hammers the system I could not really do anything but run the test. BTW I ran the option of cpu warming. I take it my MB temps are way off since it only raised 4-5c with the cheap HSF(OCZ monster2)?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •