Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    11

    60 degrees celcius even though i just got a gladiator

    is this normal? plus i have radio shack thermal compound applied on it too

  2. #2
    Senior Member OpenFriday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Posts
    688
    That is a tad odd, but what mobo, cpu, voltage ect are you using. Plus very thin layer im assuming you used of the thermal paste.
    Folding User Stats

  3. #3
    Senior Member surlyjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    far west
    Posts
    476
    ya , take it back off real careful and check the spot where it was, and make sure it was on flat and all
    "This is your brain OFF drugs!!"

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    11
    actually, i think it might be partially due to my case. i took of the outerside of my case and my temp dropped to 49 after running prime95 for a couple hours. i'm currently thinking about drilling holes in the side of my case......any other suggestions...by the way, i can't afford a new case at this moment, and there doesn't seem to be any good place in my case to put a case fan in...

  5. #5
    Senior Member outhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Auburn California
    Posts
    1,864
    Even at 49C your temps are too hot of course if we knew what you were running that would help out quite a bit, you should get your temps in the 30C range as long as your ambient temps are not too high. There should be a place in the back and front of your case for fans if not you may need to make some, drilling holes will not cut it.
    GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

    p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
    leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

    XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

    8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc

    4790K @ 4.8, Z87 EVGA FTW. 8g Corsair vengance pro, EK cpu and waterblocks. DDC. 240x2 120x1, EVGA 780TI SLI

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    11
    i have a duron 800 @ 900(6x150)

    by the way, what do you guys think is better,

    6x150=900
    7x138=966

    when i benchmark it, the 7x138 performs better, but i heard that it's always better to have a high fsb than higher speeds

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    82
    Well, if you're benchmarking the cpu only, yeah.. 7x138 will yield better results. But the cpu isn't the system. A higher FSB with a lower multiplier for a given resultant speed increases the entire system efficiency as data moves to/from the bus and memory at higher speeds, rather than just having a faster CPU only. For the case of 1GHz CPUs... 7.5x133 or even 7x143 is better than 10x100. As for your case ( different end-speeds ) however, I don't know if a 12MHz FSB increase would necessarily justify a 66MHz cpu speed decrease as far as overall system performance.

    I hope this helps a bit,

    K-Lined4Lyf

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •