Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    7

    Which CPU will yield a better overclock?

    Hello, I am looking for a processor for my new computer.

    I have been reading around on many sites and I keep hearing that the 1800 XP TBRED is a great overclocking chip.

    I was wondering if there are any overclocking advantages in buying a 1900 XP chip? Any 1900 XP chip that I will be able to buy will most likely be a Palomino.

    Which one would you recomend?

    Also I have a few questions regarding the 1800 XP:

    Is it already unlocked?

    What are some speeds that people have reported thier 1800 chip running at?

    Thanks for your input.

  2. #2
    Member [OC]Lucifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brainerd, Minnesota USA
    Posts
    752

    The

    1900+ wont clock as much as the 1800+ TBred, if much at all. As far as I know, all of the 1800+'s are coming unlocked. I dont think the 1900+ is. The 1800+ I have seen people getting it to run 2gig and slightly more on good mobos with good air cooling. Good ram is important too.
    Phenom II x4 955 @ 3.7, 4gb OCZ ddr3 1333 @ 1800, Asus m4a785td-v evo, Geforce GTS 250, Intel 40G SSD, RaptorX 150gb 10k rpm, Custom test bench case, Sony DVD-R, Corsair 750W

  3. #3
    Speedy Dragon Commander_Kang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    721
    Welcome to the forums!
    KT400 based mother boards and the new Nforce2 boards allow for cpus such as the 1800 to have access to multis 12.5 and lower.The 1800+ is T-Bred A.You will need a T-Bred if you want access to the multis in the bios if you do not want to unlock the cpu by connecting the bridges.If you have KT333 base board you only need to connect the 5th bridge on the L3 to unlock the cpu if my memory servers me correctly.
    -"I did not become a vegetarian because I like animals. Rather it was because I hate plants." --Malpine Walis

    Windows XP 64bit

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    7
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    What is the definition of good RAM. I know all RAM is not created equal but what criteria should I be looking for?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Speedy Dragon Commander_Kang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    721
    CORSAIR XMS is the way to go.I have a CORSAIR MEMORY XMS 512MB 64MX64C2.5 PC-3200PT running at 333mhz.You can get the ram right here NewEgg
    -"I did not become a vegetarian because I like animals. Rather it was because I hate plants." --Malpine Walis

    Windows XP 64bit

  6. #6
    Speedy Dragon Commander_Kang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    721
    O two things.What power supply do you have and what mother board do you have?
    -"I did not become a vegetarian because I like animals. Rather it was because I hate plants." --Malpine Walis

    Windows XP 64bit

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    7
    Dragon,

    I have a 420 Watt Power Supply, (am getting a) Soyo KT400 Ultra Dragon motherboard and will be running a custom built water cooling setup on my system.

  8. #8
    Speedy Dragon Commander_Kang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    721
    The dragon is a good board not the best but a good board non of the less.What is the make of the psu?
    -"I did not become a vegetarian because I like animals. Rather it was because I hate plants." --Malpine Walis

    Windows XP 64bit

  9. #9
    Member Kunaak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    1,315
    1 slight correction, you can get more then the 12.5 multiplier on a KT-400. I can get to 14, not 15 but then again I keep trying too high a FSB get 15 to work.
    maybe later I will try 15x133 and see what happend

    I have a Thoroughbred 1800 at the moment and I can say I love this little CPU. it's an amazing one, I now got it burning in at 13.5 by 166 and 1.9 volts.
    but this is with sub zero cooling, so you shouldn't expect that.

    but I have seen others that got to 2 ghz on air.
    either way, you really can't go wrong with this CPU, it's a great one.
    when you have nothing to hide, you have nothing to fear.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    7
    In response to your question Dragon_Engineer:

    My psu is made by Turbolink.

  11. #11
    World's Biggest E-Thug Starfoxer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,127
    i just had the same PSU die after 1 month of service in my moms computer. went out and bought her an antec truepower, it will
    never happen again

    i would suggest getting a better PSU like an ANTEC or ENERMAX
    to go with your good system. it is what powers te PC after all.
    ***************************
    ***************************
    ***************************
    ***************************
    ***************************
    ***************************
    ***************************
    ***************************

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •