Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: xp1800 @ 166fsb

  1. #1
    Member grindee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    284

    xp1800 @ 166fsb

    hey, i got a xp1800 and i burned in for 1 day at 2.05v, and when I boot up, it gets all the way to the screen right before windows loads, and it just sits there. Do you think i need to burn in more?

  2. #2
    Member nut581's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    987
    whoaaa ... i hope you have a great cooling setup that u decided to go 2.05V .. that's slightly too high for air cooling setup .. u risking the cpu too much .. careful it might get fried ..

    run it back at stock speed, if it ran okay, then u're good ..

  3. #3
    Glorious Leader I.M.O.G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Rootstown, OH
    Posts
    25,172
    what do you mean you "burned in for a day"? havent heard of that... thanks
    The OC Forums Way
    We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
    The OC Forums Thank You Thread
    Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
    Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

    I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

  4. #4
    Member Kunaak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    1,315
    prime95 or something similar.
    when you have nothing to hide, you have nothing to fear.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Mountains of N. AZ.
    Posts
    83
    Unless it's a tbred core, that 1800+ is probably NOT gonna hit a 166 fsb unless you lower the multiplier.
    My AGOIA 9 02/05 1800+ will only do 1666 MAX on my kx7-333 with 512 megs of Samsung pc2700 DTL.
    No matter how much you burn it in, you'll probably find the average overclock to be just under 1700 mhz on air.
    Now, if it is a tbred, you should be able to run 166 fsb no problem, but from what you are describing, it sounds as though it isn't.

  6. #6
    Member grindee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    284

    im water cooled

    im not air cooled, im dual heatercore water cooled. 25c full load. Burning in is when you run high volts with stock speeds or lower. It helps you oc better.

  7. #7
    Member Angryviking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Canada!
    Posts
    121
    Burning-in is a topic of heated discussion; most people are convinced it doesn't help at all. Unfortunately, the 1800 is not much of an OCer either. It's rare to see great OCs. I gave up on mine, went and got a 1600.

    What are your settings at when it refuses to boot? (FSB, volts, mem timings etc)
    Last edited by Angryviking; 12-06-02 at 07:47 PM.

  8. #8
    Member grindee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    284

    fsb

    it wont work on 166fsbx11.5(stock) @ 2.05v it wont work, or at 2.10 it wont work. I even tried 2.05v with the ram at 133mhz, its usually at 166. cas 2.5

  9. #9
    Member Angryviking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Canada!
    Posts
    121
    That sounds exactly like my 1800 before I gave up. It's a lousy OCer....

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    378
    You can see my OCed XP1800 in my sig, I had to unlock it which you might have to do if you insist on running a 166MHz FSB. (I run it at 11x173.......2.1V)

  11. #11
    Member grindee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    284

    i traded my friend

    i traded my xp1800 for my friends xp1600 because he doesnt oc. Its all good now. Gonna try and run 172x10.5 w/ the 1600

  12. #12
    Member OC Detective's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    4,691

    Re: fsb

    Originally posted by grindee
    it wont work on 166fsbx11.5(stock) @ 2.05v it wont work, or at 2.10 it wont work. I even tried 2.05v with the ram at 133mhz, its usually at 166. cas 2.5
    166 x 11.5 = stock? No.
    133 x 11.5 = stock!
    So you were not burning in at stock speeds!

  13. #13
    Member grindee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    284

    i meant the multiplier

    i meant the 11.5 multiplier as stock, not the fsb. i know fsb is 133

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    137

    Re: fsb

    Originally posted by grindee
    it wont work on 166fsbx11.5(stock) @ 2.05v it wont work, or at 2.10 it wont work. I even tried 2.05v with the ram at 133mhz, its usually at 166. cas 2.5
    My T-Bred runs at 12,5x166MHZ at 1,6(!!!) Volts....

    I think, the voltage is way too high.

  15. #15
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Posts
    15,547
    uber-high voltages (over 2v) can casue problems.

    A ''good'' chip should Overclock quite well with little or no voltage increases.

    Assuming the chip is not the problem, perhaps your AGP and PCI speeds are too fast for your cards? Some NICs and SCSI and RAID cards dont like high PCI speeds.

    David
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  16. #16
    Member grindee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    284

    k thx

    thx for help guys

  17. #17
    Member Kaswyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    142
    Originally posted by broken003
    You can see my OCed XP1800 in my sig, I had to unlock it which you might have to do if you insist on running a 166MHz FSB. (I run it at 11x173.......2.1V)
    Ouch. I run mine at 11x175 at (reported voltage) 1.7v+. That a Palomino?

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    378
    Originally posted by Kaswyn


    Ouch. I run mine at 11x175 at (reported voltage) 1.7v+. That a Palomino?
    Yea it is a Palomino, I only wish it were a Tbred. I dont get much more MHz out of it going from 1.85 to 2.1 V (something like 100Mhz), but I have the cooling system to take care of the additional heat so I figure what the heck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •