Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member radadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    240

    xp1800 tbred... need more voltage ?

    Just got this tbred. I can only get 10.5*166 on my msi kt4, mobo is limiting voltage to 1.60 max. Will closing all L11 bridges get me to 1.85v? Will I still have a range in bios to choose from? Any other methods to increase cpu voltage with throughbreds?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Posts
    5,734
    Bummer

    1.75 is the magic number.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  3. #3
    Member radadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    240
    Originally posted by OnDborder
    Bummer

    1.75 is the magic number.
    I'de be happy with that! How to?

  4. #4
    Member =[8c0re8]='s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Where Da Big Budz Grow!
    Posts
    270
    your M/B is is @ 160v max?...wat BIOS version are you using?..

    i think a updated bios version might increase ur voltage?
    Asus M5A99FX
    AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1035T Processor
    Corsairs Vengence 2x4gb DDR3@9-9-9-24-1T
    Radeon 6870 1gb DDR5

  5. #5
    Member radadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    240
    Originally posted by =[8c0re8]=
    your M/B is is @ 160v max?...wat BIOS version are you using?..

    i think a updated bios version might increase ur voltage?
    I've tried all the versions 1.0-1.6 no luck. Guess I'll get out the conductive pen and scotch tape tonight and close all the L11 bridges.

  6. #6
    Disabled Pinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Narf City, USA
    Posts
    6,032
    You can close just certain ones to get a higher default voltage.

    Can get the diagrams for the L11 bridges (these are the voltage controls on the tbreds) here:

    http://www.ocinside.de/html/workshop..._painting.html

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    944
    you'll probably have to volt mod your mobo..

    search around on google or something and you'll probably find out how to do it..

  8. #8
    Member radadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    240

    $68=2GHz!

    I closed all the L11 bridges last night. Booted up ok, only got 1.65v max., missed the second L11 bridge. Fixed it and now getting the full 1.85v!

    Gota love these cpus! No burn-in at all & I'm getting 170*11.5@1.75v The tbred's teasing me with with 2GHZ, 12*166@1.85v will boot winxp but hangs. I'm sure after some burn in I'll break 2GHz!

    $68=2GHz! Life is good! Thanks AMD & NEWEGG!

  9. #9
    Registered heyou_21's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    88
    Radadman,

    Just wondering what are you using for cooling?

  10. #10
    Member radadman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    240
    Originally posted by heyou_21
    Radadman,

    Just wondering what are you using for cooling?
    Currently using slk800 w/80mm panaflo, but i'm going to try my 80mm tornado & ear muffs to see what I can get.

  11. #11
    Registered heyou_21's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    88
    Thanks Rad, i need better cooling for mine, but i don't want anything too loud. currenttly using a valcano 7.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •