Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 50
  1. #1
    Senior Member oc jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Fayetteville, AR
    Posts
    2,195

    Purchasing Card Today 4600 or 9700

    Well I am buying today and have always used nVidia. I have a GeForce 2 Pro 64 and am looking to upgrade. I dont really have a brand preference. My 2 choices are Ti4600 or teh ATI Radeon 9700 non pro. I just cannot decide. I want to run my games at 1024x768 res and a Desktop res of 1280x1024 / 1600x1200. In CS I turn AA off and Antriscopic OFF, Texture Sharpening OFF and MipMap to best Performance. I can tell the clarity of the pics is down but I DO get 100fps steady. I want a fast card that I can set AAx4, 2-4x Antriscopic. Besat Pic Quality for MiPmaP, Texture Sharpening ON and still have 100+ fps.

    So what card will do the best with all the bells and whistels maxed out. I play Q3 / UT2K3 / WC3 / CS and some other games but those are the most played. I want those games to have 100+fps & AWESOME detail.

    What would be my best bet. and are the ATI drivers still crap. I was looking at the ATI 9700 Control Panel w the 2.5 drivers seems to be a good mix. 9700 on pricecwatch is like $233, Ti4600 is like $210 -- best bets ??
    [THE HATEMACHINE]
    .: p4 3.2c : Abit IC7 : 1.5gb pc3500 : Gf Fx 5950 :.

    [FAVORITE GIRL]
    .: AMDxp 3700 : DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 : 2gb pc4000 : Gf 7900gt :.

    WoW
    Server: Laughing Skull
    Faction: Alliance
    Name: Truex 60 Dwarf Rogue

  2. #2
    Senior Member funnyperson1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    10,541
    the 9700 is far superior to the 4600 especially if you want to play with AA and all that on....from my experiences i would say that the drivers are pretty good, just as good as with my Geforce2Pro....

    "Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
    its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
    My Heatware
    [Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]

  3. #3
    Bon3thugz43v3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Sunshine State
    Posts
    1,782
    9700 is the one to get. Ive seen many benchmarks and the ti4600 beat the Hercules 9700 in 1 benchmark out of about 5 I looked at. My radeon 9700 Pro kicks a**!!!
    i7-4770k @ 4.2Ghz
    16GB G.Skill DDR3 2666
    Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
    MSI N770 TF 2GD5/OC
    Corsair HX750 PSU
    Corsair H100i
    Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD

    My Heatware

  4. #4
    Member TheFrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,630
    IM- neither, get a 9500 PRO. If i had to choose, i would obviously get the 9700 if I have da cash, if not, then go with the ti4600
    "Important Note: Do not submerge the Game Boy Advance or pour water on it directly."
    .................................................. .......................................... -Nintendo.com Customer Support

  5. #5
    Member TheFrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,630
    Originally posted by Bon3thugz43v3r
    9700 is the one to get. Ive seen many benchmarks and the ti4600 beat the Hercules 9700 in 1 benchmark out of about 5 I looked at. My radeon 9700 Pro kicks a**!!!
    Uhhhh..... soemthings wrong in your system. At default i get about 500 points less with my ti4200 and my system is WORSE. THats trippy as a hippy.
    "Important Note: Do not submerge the Game Boy Advance or pour water on it directly."
    .................................................. .......................................... -Nintendo.com Customer Support

  6. #6
    Member ManOfKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Back in Iowa :( Come on Gators, Get up and Go!
    Posts
    1,209
    I would get the 9700 PRO if i had the money and wanted to spend it on one thing...although I am going to get a 9500 PRO the main difference is it is 128bit not 256bit like its bigger brother

    if you are going to get the 9700...make sure it is the PRO version, there is a big clock difference between the 9700 and the 9700 PRO
    Laptop: XPS m1530 | T7700 2.2Ghz | 2048MB GSkill DDR2 | NVidia m8600GT 256MB DDR3 :D | 120GB 7200rpm
    Project Caesar: Q9450 @ 3.4Ghz | Maximus Formula | 8192MB OCZ Reaper | eVGA GTX260 | XFX 8800GTS for F@H | 2780GB Total Sata
    Project Jessks: e8400 @ 4.2Ghz | P5KE-WiFi/AP | 4096MB GSkill Red | ATi HD4850 (folding) | 74GB Raptor | 1.5TB Green WD
    Project Fileserver: Phenom 9850 | Biostar 790GX | 2048MB GSkill | (4) 1.5TB Green WD
    Computers are running 24/7 World Community Grid and Folding@Home for
    My Mother, My Sister, Julie Stutzman, Gary Janssen, and Shelly Laborde
    My Heatware 30-0

  7. #7
    Member Amino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    1,425
    Originally posted by TheFrag


    Uhhhh..... soemthings wrong in your system. At default i get about 500 points less with my ti4200 and my system is WORSE. THats trippy as a hippy.
    Athlon Xp 2000+, 12.0 x 145
    1024 MICRON CRUCIAL PC2100,
    Asus A7V333,
    Volcano 7+,AS3, NOT LAPPED
    ATI RADEON 9700 Pro
    10,000 RPM WD
    3d Mark 2001 Score "10,205"

    Dude, TheFrag is SOOO right. You've got serious problems in your system if your 3DMark Score is that low. I've got an Albatron ti4200 and an XP2000+ clocked at 133x13.5 (stock) with only 512 of PC2700 (which might be a small factor), but I'm getting 11,000+! You need to get new drivers or something cuz that seriously doesn't add up, unless you've got 4X AA on and best image quality as your mipmap setting... then it'd make some sense, but you should still be whipping my tail...

  8. #8
    Senior Member oc jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Fayetteville, AR
    Posts
    2,195
    ya but the pro is like another $50 bux
    [THE HATEMACHINE]
    .: p4 3.2c : Abit IC7 : 1.5gb pc3500 : Gf Fx 5950 :.

    [FAVORITE GIRL]
    .: AMDxp 3700 : DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 : 2gb pc4000 : Gf 7900gt :.

    WoW
    Server: Laughing Skull
    Faction: Alliance
    Name: Truex 60 Dwarf Rogue

  9. #9
    Member TheFrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,630
    the 512mb will only give u a few points, barely any more than a gig would get. Also, the 9700 would own with all setting turned up. Plz explain wtf is going wrong?
    "Important Note: Do not submerge the Game Boy Advance or pour water on it directly."
    .................................................. .......................................... -Nintendo.com Customer Support

  10. #10
    Senior Member oc jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Fayetteville, AR
    Posts
    2,195
    Well the Radeon 9700 Pro is like $293 shipped. The Ti4600 is $210 shipped and now that I think about it I only have 256mb mem that I could get the Ti4600 + 256mb pc3500 for the same price as the Radeon.

    That might be a better system choice to get the Ti + Mem. I have 256mb Mushkin pc3000 and upgrading to a stick of 256mb pc3500 will give me 512mb (good since I run XP) and when I go back to AMD system from my current Intel system I will only have to buy 1 stick more pc3500 after selling my pc3000.

    So what would be better upgrade overall for the system. Radeon 9700pro only or GF4 Ti 4600 + 256mb MORE memory. I run WinXP and play games. Usually have Trillian, mIRC, a few websites open and some mp3 via winamp. Would I benefit from 512 more than I do 256?
    [THE HATEMACHINE]
    .: p4 3.2c : Abit IC7 : 1.5gb pc3500 : Gf Fx 5950 :.

    [FAVORITE GIRL]
    .: AMDxp 3700 : DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 : 2gb pc4000 : Gf 7900gt :.

    WoW
    Server: Laughing Skull
    Faction: Alliance
    Name: Truex 60 Dwarf Rogue

  11. #11
    Member Evnas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,980
    Go with the 9500 Pro and 256mb ram. The 9500 Pro is cheaper then a Ti4600, has more features, and performs better. I just got one today, and good god im in love! lol...everything ive thrown at it has run it flawlessly. And yes, another 256mb ram will help a lot. Ive only got 256mb atm, and im itching to get another 256mb at least. All i do is game, and a tiny pit of photoediting and webdesign, and ive seen how much at least 512mb of ram can help a system...especially for gaming

  12. #12
    Senior Member oc jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Fayetteville, AR
    Posts
    2,195
    I see the prices on the 9500 but what are some of the actual specs. 8xAGP ? core/mem clocks? mb mem? -any certain brand to go with ?
    [THE HATEMACHINE]
    .: p4 3.2c : Abit IC7 : 1.5gb pc3500 : Gf Fx 5950 :.

    [FAVORITE GIRL]
    .: AMDxp 3700 : DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 : 2gb pc4000 : Gf 7900gt :.

    WoW
    Server: Laughing Skull
    Faction: Alliance
    Name: Truex 60 Dwarf Rogue

  13. #13
    Member Evnas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,980
    Originally posted by oc jason
    I see the prices on the 9500 but what are some of the actual specs. 8xAGP ? core/mem clocks? mb mem? -any certain brand to go with ?
    Its clocked at 275/270, can overclock to 340/310 about, has 8x AGP, 128mb memory, and i would do with an ATi built version (though they are all really the same, just a different name on the sticker)

  14. #14
    Senior Member oc jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Fayetteville, AR
    Posts
    2,195
    i assume the mem speed is 2x that correct. Say if a radeon is clocked at 250/300 its actually 250/600. If not them my GeForce 2 mem runs as fast as the newest ATI lol. Like some GF4's run at 300/650 or whatever so a Radeon is double the posted mem speed correct ?
    [THE HATEMACHINE]
    .: p4 3.2c : Abit IC7 : 1.5gb pc3500 : Gf Fx 5950 :.

    [FAVORITE GIRL]
    .: AMDxp 3700 : DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 : 2gb pc4000 : Gf 7900gt :.

    WoW
    Server: Laughing Skull
    Faction: Alliance
    Name: Truex 60 Dwarf Rogue

  15. #15
    Member Evnas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,980
    Yea, 270 is actually speed...540MHz effective.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Compton,CA
    Posts
    794
    9700 4 sure
    Abit IS7-E Mobo 2.6C @ 3.2ghz for now
    WaterCooled TC-4,JR-120 RAD,Hydor L35
    Pump,ClearFlex Tubing,Custom PVC RES
    4x 512mb XMS3200, Seagate SATA 80Gb Hdd
    ATI Radeon 9800 PRO , Sb AudigySE
    Heatware

  17. #17
    Senior Member funnyperson1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    10,541
    if you do get the 9500PRo, make sure you get the Pro version, the 9500 plain sucks compared to a 4600.....

    i would get a 9700 regular for around 230-240$ and you could still get the ram ...and this would still crush the 4600

    "Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
    its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
    My Heatware
    [Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]

  18. #18
    Member OC Noob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    Posts
    5,781
    Yeah, the 9700 is a really good card still and if it can be o/ced I doubt it would be hard to get it to 9700 pro speeds and BAM!!! you have a 9700 pro.

    Can the 9500 pro and 9700 be O/Ced now?

    I would do either the 9500 pro or the 9700 and ram. With those you can run AA and AF with good FPS. The Ti4600 can't.


    ps the Radeons are DX9 too, so when games start supporting the new features you will beable to take advantage of the new eye candy.
    Hail to the King:
    Opteron 165 w/ DFI Ultra-D w/ BBA 1900XT 512 mb GSkill PC4200 1 GB x 2
    74 gb WD Raptor x 2 Raid 0 MSI (ATI550) Tuner
    w/ Windows XP Media Center Edition & OCZ Powerstream 520
    DD TDX H2O block w/ Maze4 GPA block DD D4 pump
    single 120mm Fan Heater core w/ shroud In Lian-Li fish tank window case

    RIP (Rest In Pieces):
    P4 3.0 ghz @ 3.75 ghz Aerocool HT-101 IC7-G
    Radeon 9800 Pro 430 W Antec True Power

  19. #19
    Member Evnas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    3,980
    Originally posted by OC Noob
    Can the 9500 pro and 9700 be O/Ced now?
    Yup...thanks to Warp11

  20. #20
    Member OC Noob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    Posts
    5,781
    Sweet! Hows it done?
    Hail to the King:
    Opteron 165 w/ DFI Ultra-D w/ BBA 1900XT 512 mb GSkill PC4200 1 GB x 2
    74 gb WD Raptor x 2 Raid 0 MSI (ATI550) Tuner
    w/ Windows XP Media Center Edition & OCZ Powerstream 520
    DD TDX H2O block w/ Maze4 GPA block DD D4 pump
    single 120mm Fan Heater core w/ shroud In Lian-Li fish tank window case

    RIP (Rest In Pieces):
    P4 3.0 ghz @ 3.75 ghz Aerocool HT-101 IC7-G
    Radeon 9800 Pro 430 W Antec True Power

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •