Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member dude_drew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Aberdeen, SD

    Unlocked AMD XP MOBO

    I am looking for a preunlocked mobo so I can overclock my soon to be AMD XP 2000+ cpu. I want one with 1 AGP, 5 or 6 PCI slots, DDR Ram with sound and no video. I want to beable to overclock it as good as I can and have the board be less than $130 if possible. I only have a 200MHz computer so you can see my rush. And I am a "Invincible" 14 year old who thinks nothing can go wrong (I've been proved wrong alot) so I need as much listings possible. HELP ME PLEASE

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    get a nforce 2 epox's 8RDA+ will be the best for u it will unlock all T-breds so get an 1800+ T-Bred from newegg, it has support for FSBs upto 250MHz and now all the problems with the board have been sorted out, make sure you dont get a palomino core XP as it will not be unlocked and u would have to do so yourself

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Look.

    1)
    ALL THE LOW SPEED TBREDA'S ARE UNLOCKED ON EVERY MOTHERBOARD.

    (well any motherboard that supports multi adjustments)

    So the tbred 1800 will be unlocked on any KT266A, KT333, KT400, nforce, nforce2, etc. etc.

    2) You only need to worry about a board to unlock the tbreds if you have a higher speed tbred, with a multi above 13 (e.g. 2400XP) I know the KT400 abit and epox do unlock these higher speed tbreds, I know the MSI KT400 DOES NOT.

    I'm currently recomending the epox KT400 EP-8k9A as the best LOW COST ocing mobo, its about $85, I've got two, and both run at 200FSB pretty easy.

    3) I KNOW OF NO MOTHERBOARD THAT WILL UNLOCK THE AMD 2000 XP. As far as I know, the 2000 XP is a Pallimino core, and so you must manually do the bridge trick to unlock it.

    I agree with the previous poster, the 1800tbred is a better buy than the 2000 if you are ocing right now.

    Good luck!
    IT HAS BECOME TIME TO CRUNCH MORE
    Dell XPS M1710, core 2 CPU
    Alienware quad core extreme dual gforce 280gtx.
    Quad core Q6600 - 1, 2 X 260GTX, 216 core
    Quad core Q6600 - 2, 2 X 260GTX, 216 core
    OLD AMD socket 939, 260GTX 196 core + 8800GTX
    HP proliant ML350G4 dual xeon server
    2 pcie slots left for more CUDA to be added later ....

  4. #4
    Member dude_drew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Aberdeen, SD
    ok ill try to get my dad to buy me a AMD XP 1800+ with a Epox 8RDA+. I found that board for $132 somewhere. What speed of ram should I get? And would I just beable to get by with 256MB or would I need 384MB or 512MB? I am intending on overclocking it anyway. Is it also true that ocing lessins the life of the board? Thats what my dad thinks.

  5. #5
    Senior TIFOSI Sonny's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    VARIANTE ASCARI
    A little late but this is what I posted in the CPU section since there is a fair amount of confusion to this...

    Originally posted by Sonny
    With ANY current AMD Thunderbird | Palomino | ThoroughBred CPU as long as the L1 Bridges are connected they are unlocked. People got confused when the TBa & TBb chips came out with all the L1 bridges were closed but could not LOWER the multiplier & came to the conclusion that it was locked but with the few that tried a HIGHER multiplier realized it was partially unlocked which wasn’t technically right either & since motherboards did not have BIOS revisions that had multiplier choices above 13.5 this caused further confusion which is still rampant today. Case in Point this thread & the article linked to

    What the KT400 brings is really to be able to read ALL 5 L1 BRIDGES & not just the first 4. The ability to read all 5 would allow you to adjust the multipliers from 5X - 22X & not just 5 - 12.5 or 13 - 22. Remember the issues with unlocking the XP2100+, after bridging the L1s the lower multipliers were not available but the higher multipliers were? Most boards then could only read the first 4 bridges.

    I have a KT400 chipset based MoBo & a XP1600+. It comes locked & the MoBo can not unlock it by itself. When I unlock the chip I can access all the multipliers & not just the lower or higher sets.

    Basically if your MoBo can read all 5 L1s you have no problems with gaining access to all the multipliers. If not your limited to the HIGHER or LOWER set with conjuction with the multipliers available in the BIOS revision.
    ..... so check if the MoBo can read all 5 L1 bridges
    MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
    ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
    E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
    CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
    G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
    XFi Titanium PCI-E
    T260HD
    G9, G15R2, G25
    ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
    620HX

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Originally posted by dude_drew
    ok ill try to get my dad to buy me a AMD XP 1800+ with a Epox 8RDA+. I found that board for $132 somewhere. What speed of ram should I get? And would I just beable to get by with 256MB or would I need 384MB or 512MB? I am intending on overclocking it anyway. Is it also true that ocing lessins the life of the board? Thats what my dad thinks.
    I've not ever heard that ocing does ANYTHING to the motherboard. It is running just as fast (usually) as it was designed to. The CHIP is usually what is running to fast. Yes, the chips life is probably shotened, from like 10 years to 7, but I've never had a chip for that long. :-)

    MOST chips that will overclock will last at least a couple of years.

    Good luck!
    IT HAS BECOME TIME TO CRUNCH MORE
    Dell XPS M1710, core 2 CPU
    Alienware quad core extreme dual gforce 280gtx.
    Quad core Q6600 - 1, 2 X 260GTX, 216 core
    Quad core Q6600 - 2, 2 X 260GTX, 216 core
    OLD AMD socket 939, 260GTX 196 core + 8800GTX
    HP proliant ML350G4 dual xeon server
    2 pcie slots left for more CUDA to be added later ....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •