Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Member Shuruga2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    667

    constantly loading the pages

    no, i dont mean that i'm here all the time. i mean that when i open a thread to read it, it never finishes loading.

    i'm using IE (6.0.26)and the flag never stops waving, it always says "Opening page..." at the bottom, and the banner thats normally in the top right never appears.

    is anyone else getting this?
    its not a big problem, but i think its causing be to not be able to go to any links from inside a thread. altho buttons like submit and reply all work fine.

    (even the submitting pages do this, i typed this whole thing without the page being 'done')

  2. #2
    Member UnWishedLegacy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NorthEast England
    Posts
    489
    Your not the only one= the comps at uni have the same probs, no idea what causes it- my home system works fine (Ver. 6.0.28). whats your OS?
    I havn't been on here for many years- for me O/C.com is now a resource, not a social forum.

  3. #3
    Member Gandalf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Near Niagara Falls, CANADA
    Posts
    1,639
    I'm on 6.0.28 and it stops loading just fine. Using WinXP too....

  4. #4
    Member Shuruga2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    667
    Originally posted by T.Toy
    whats your OS?
    XP.
    and i've got all the latest win updated, etc.

  5. #5
    Member ToledoSteel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    528
    I just read this on another thread dowload the latest Macromedia Flash and it fixes the problem. Link

  6. #6
    Member Shuruga2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    667
    thanks

  7. #7
    Senior Member Yodums's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    12,405
    Yep it should happen to almost everyone. I know at school I have the exact same problem. It happens on the main forum and as well as other forum but not threads.
    Peter Gibbons: Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you're not feelin' real well, does anyone ever say to you, 'Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays'?

    Lawrence: No. No, man. ****, no, man. I believe you'd get your ass kicked sayin' something like that, man.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,209
    Its also happening to me....using the same IE version. I'll download that flash update and see how that does.

    Oh...and Yodums....its happening right now...so it does happen in threads.

    -CPFitz-

  9. #9
    OCForums Founder & Extraordinarily Elusive Administrator skip's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    It's the banner ads. The banner images are served from another site and if that's down, it will wait to load.
    Born to be Wild!!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,209
    Aha!

    You're right....there's no banner ad in the upper right. Don't tell the advertisers, but I didn't even notice it was gone.

    -CPFitz-


    on a side note: How do you get paid for those Skip? Is it per click? Cause I'd be happy to click that thing a few hundred times.

  11. #11
    OCForums Founder & Extraordinarily Elusive Administrator skip's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    Not actually per click. We charge $400-$500 per month BUT, if the advertiser doesn't get any clicks, they won't renew. That's what happened to all of the other advertisers we had. No traffic from the Forums so they won't pay anymore. In fact, I don't think Vantec is going to renew.
    Born to be Wild!!

  12. #12
    Senior Toilet Scrubber Ebola's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Rosemount, MN
    Posts
    2,511
    oc-forums.com works fine for me. vantecs page doesnt seem to load. lol. could be that i'm on 56k and dont feel like waiting forever.

  13. #13
    Member LittlePiggie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,260
    We all need to start clicking on that banner!!!

  14. #14
    Are you my Daddy?
    ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪ Senior Member ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪
    Penguin4x4's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Sector 7G
    Posts
    5,933
    Originally posted by skip
    Not actually per click. We charge $400-$500 per month BUT, if the advertiser doesn't get any clicks, they won't renew. That's what happened to all of the other advertisers we had. No traffic from the Forums so they won't pay anymore. In fact, I don't think Vantec is going to renew.
    You mean I just overloaded my 1GB Swap File 5 times just for nothing?
    ~Yasashiku Onegaishimasu~

    OCForums Metal Club member #39


    Need To Contact Me? Use E-Mail or Instant Messenger

  15. #15
    Member UnWishedLegacy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    NorthEast England
    Posts
    489
    Originally posted by skip
    Not actually per click. We charge $400-$500 per month BUT, if the advertiser doesn't get any clicks, they won't renew. That's what happened to all of the other advertisers we had. No traffic from the Forums so they won't pay anymore. In fact, I don't think Vantec is going to renew.
    I don't blame Vantec not wanting to renew- but as far as I remember, this ad for the Nexus panel has been here almost as long as I have (middle of last year)- maybe if there were some different adverts in places that a relevant to the forums- Nexus Panels in Accessories and Case Mods, DVD Burners and HardDrives in Storage etc etc...

    There are only a certain number of times that people can look at the same advert and not get bored or irritated, sure you will get less revenue per banner but if you put different adverts in the relevant area then you can get more companies advertising in the forum and more money comming in if people are interested in various products.

    An idea to get more trafic in the forum would be to have a logo in the main page (a bit of blue text isnt going to inspire anyone to click the link).
    I havn't been on here for many years- for me O/C.com is now a resource, not a social forum.

  16. #16
    Senior Member Maxvla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    9,289
    agreed partially ttoy.

    instead of the same nexus advertisement for 500 years they should put in a new one each month. i personally think a tornado or stealth advertisement would do them much better than the nexus panel.
    The Black Hole
    Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
    Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX460 1GB
    Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
    Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
    Corsair HX850W PSU
    NEC DVD-RW

  17. #17
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Augusta Twp, MI
    Posts
    2,212
    I totally agree. I can only be somewhat interested in that banner once. Considering its the ONLY banner, I think it has captured enough people attention. This isn't a 'visitor' site. People don't go to google, punch in keywords, and oc-forums pops up. It doesn't work like that.

    This is primarily a member only site. People don't flock here from huge search engines, they come here in small loads from overclockers.com front page. The vast majority of people here are members, and they have "done seen" that banner enough already. It's time for something new.

  18. #18
    Member madsam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,290
    i , for one, have clicked their ad, and i even bought a nexus, but not that one advertised, i bought the one with 4 knobs. so, they are getting the clicks, and the business, but yeah, it's the advertisers fault if they leave the same stale ad there forever.

    it's not like there is a problem trying to provoke members here to buy a product....i know since i have been here, i have spent a small fortune on my pc's, and will continue to, and if vantec, or anyone lists the proper ads, this is a big hit spot for it.

    afa the loading thing, i get it too. i thought it was the firewall, and it's not, but i learned to live with it. i just downloaded the macromedia flash, and the pages still don't load, but other sites do, like newegg....etc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •