Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member Captain Hilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON

    Asus A7A266 CPU voltage options

    Can anyone tell me what cpu voltage options are on this board? I read an old review stating that it supported vcores from 1.75 to 1.85, am I correct to assume that that actual vcore options are 0.1v above the cpu default?

    Also, does the latest bios support multiplier changes from the bios?

    The reason why I am asking is because a friend of mine has this board, and I was thinking of putting a 1700+ Tbred in there for him. I'm pretty sure it's not an A7A266-E (what's the difference anyway) but I haven't been able to take a look at the board myself yet to verify this.
    Box 1: Gigabyte 965P-S3, E4300 at 3GHz, Arctic Freezer 7 Pro, OCZ GameXtreme 600W, EVGA 8800GTS 640MB (635/1063 max), 2GB Corsair XMS2 5400, 500GB Western Digital SATA II, Logitech Z-5500

    Box 2: Gigabyte P35-DS3L rev. 2.0, e2160 at 3GHz, Enermax 420W, PNY 9600GT, 2GB OCZ PC6400 320GB WD SATA

  2. #2
    Senior Member Yodums's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Your first queston is a little vague so I'll try to answer the best I can: it would be either 0.025v (1.775v) - 0.1V (1.85v).

    You may want to see whether that board accepts T-Breds since I know recent board needed a bios update to recognize T-Breds - My 8KHA+ for instance.

    Yodums
    Peter Gibbons: Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you're not feelin' real well, does anyone ever say to you, 'Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays'?

    Lawrence: No. No, man. ****, no, man. I believe you'd get your ass kicked sayin' something like that, man.

  3. #3
    Member Mambo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Edmonton Canada
    I have that board and i'm pretty sure it won't support a tbred

  4. #4
    Member Captain Hilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    What I mean is what voltage range would I have on that board with a Tbred 1700+? In the review I read the range available was 1.75v to 1.85v, but that was with a Thunderbird CPU. I am assuming that for a Tbred 1700+ the range would be from 1.5v to 1.6v since the default is 1.5v on that chip.

    I found a cpu compatability chart on the Asus site and it said that the board supported up to a 2600+ with the latest bios.
    Box 1: Gigabyte 965P-S3, E4300 at 3GHz, Arctic Freezer 7 Pro, OCZ GameXtreme 600W, EVGA 8800GTS 640MB (635/1063 max), 2GB Corsair XMS2 5400, 500GB Western Digital SATA II, Logitech Z-5500

    Box 2: Gigabyte P35-DS3L rev. 2.0, e2160 at 3GHz, Enermax 420W, PNY 9600GT, 2GB OCZ PC6400 320GB WD SATA

  5. #5
    Senior Member Yodums's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Originally posted by Captain Hilts
    What I mean is what voltage range would I have on that board with a Tbred 1700+? In the review I read the range available was 1.75v to 1.85v, but that was with a Thunderbird CPU. I am assuming that for a Tbred 1700+ the range would be from 1.5v to 1.6v since the default is 1.5v on that chip.

    I found a cpu compatability chart on the Asus site and it said that the board supported up to a 2600+ with the latest bios.
    Hmmm, you maybe risking it however. The KX7 Rev 1 for instance was reported to support 2200+ T-Breds and above but Rev 1 wasn't able to so Rev 1.1 had to support it.
    Peter Gibbons: Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you're not feelin' real well, does anyone ever say to you, 'Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays'?

    Lawrence: No. No, man. ****, no, man. I believe you'd get your ass kicked sayin' something like that, man.

  6. #6
    Member Captain Hilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Hmm, I guess I'll post a message asking if anyone has actually got a Thoroughbred working on that board.
    Box 1: Gigabyte 965P-S3, E4300 at 3GHz, Arctic Freezer 7 Pro, OCZ GameXtreme 600W, EVGA 8800GTS 640MB (635/1063 max), 2GB Corsair XMS2 5400, 500GB Western Digital SATA II, Logitech Z-5500

    Box 2: Gigabyte P35-DS3L rev. 2.0, e2160 at 3GHz, Enermax 420W, PNY 9600GT, 2GB OCZ PC6400 320GB WD SATA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •