• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hrm.. extreme idea?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

undertow

Registered
Ok, well.. I'm pretty new to water cooling, but apparently the concept is something that I'm pretty familiar with. I'm a total gearhead, and everything is more or less about performance -- and the key to performance, is cooling. So, taking some knowledge from my car and applying it my water cooling setup:

In my car, I use N2O (Nitrous Oxide) to the cool my intercooler to help achieve more efficiency with a cooler air charge from the turbo. Why couldn't I apply this towards my PC, using N2O to cool my radiator in bursts? Similiar to holding a can of compressed air upside down and hosing down a metal object. With the size of nitrous bottles, namely a "Sneaky Pete" system, one could easily incorporate this into a PC setup.. refills would really be the only maintenance, and I couldn't imagine using very much N2O..

Anyway, am I complete oddball or you think this might be a worthwhile try? :)

Sounds cool. :) I think there are some other ways, which may be better, if you want to go the extreme cooling route, namely, TECs or phase-change. But, hey. Whatever suits your fancy. :)

How long do you think those N2O canisters would last?

It is really up to you. Personally, after I build a system, I don't want to do ANY hardware maintenance on it.

I'm sure you will LOVE the smell of sulfur everytime you hit the button. Because whoever fills your bottles "supposed" to fill them with a sulfur tainted mix of nitrous to prevent human consumption.

well, it boils at -89c. You might be able to make a chiller of some kind that uses it but it will take a lot of that stuff depending apone how cold you want it of course. I wonder what it condenses at:(