Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member Wraith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Fussa Japan
    Posts
    1,302

    Trident Blade 3d!

    My girlfriend has a Trident Blade onboard 3d accelerator, I was wondering what the specs on this 8 meg card are, and if it OC's well or at all, that and will it run CS/UT for her? Her rig is an Athlon K6-2 400 w 64 megs of pc 100. She wants to get into gaming/lan partys with me, so I gota make sure her rig will play the games we do! Her Mobo has no AGP port, and she cant sepnd any cash upgrading it, plus im pretty sure (since its compaw) that I can't turn of the onboaard vid card.
    Help?
    Athlon 2000+ @ 1.9 147/147
    ECS K7S5A
    256 MB TwinMOS DDR PC2100
    ATI Radeon 9000 128 MB (Saphire)
    40 Gig Western Digital
    Atapi CDRW
    Atapi DVD ROM 16x
    Stock HS and Fan
    Watercooled- Maze 3 Lucite,Dtek 200GPH Pump/Res, Black Ice Micro

    "So, please, flush any 100% across-the-board crap out of your heads and let's look at this anew.

    You Were Wrong, Wrong, Wrong; The Radeon Rules!"
    - Overclockers.com

  2. #2
    Member pip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Oregon, The InteLinux State
    Posts
    2,030
    well it won't be a ble to run UT 2k3 by any means but you might get away with UT standard and CS but not at decent fps at anythiong above 640x480

  3. #3
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    I think counterstrike is an old game, so she could run 1024x768x16 easy. I remember running half life in that res on my old packard hell 233. not sure of fps, but it was smooth. at least 20 for sure. quake3 is the newest game she would get acceptable fps and probably get 25-30fps in 640x480x16 low details. Her cpu sucks for gaming, a 300 celeron is already better, mine at 504 is a fine rig, gets me like 90fps! what she can do is buy a 550MHz amd k6-3 cheap on ebay, say $20 or better yet just build a new comp

  4. #4
    Senior Member funnyperson1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    10,541
    that can most definately handle CS, UT is probable...

    "Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
    its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
    My Heatware
    [Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]

  5. #5
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    her cpu is more a problem then her video card, even a tnt can handle newer games if your cpu is fast and you run 640x480

  6. #6
    Senior Member funnyperson1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    10,541
    Originally posted by Overclocker550
    her cpu is more a problem then her video card, even a tnt can handle newer games if your cpu is fast and you run 640x480
    a cyber blade isnt that much faster than a TNT, my friend has a 16mb one in his 1.6ghz lappy and it gets abosolutely thrashed by by an Athlon700+TNT2 M64

    "Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
    its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
    My Heatware
    [Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]

  7. #7
    Gloriously Lead
    Overclockix Chief Architect
    mbentley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    9,313
    i sure know that she won't be able to use a lot of eye candy... i had a system a lot like that... amd k6-2 @ 400 MHz, 98 mb ram, 8 mb ati xpert 98 and cs was jumpy from time to time at 800 x 600 (okay it was really jumpy). i couldn't turn up the detail and had to run in 16 bit color. like others said, ut won't run. by the way, yes you can turn off the onboard video from the compaqs. you just need to disable the device in the hardware manager. it will always be there, but it will be disabled. if you need instructions on how to disable it, just contact me. i'll be more than happy to help.
    intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
    intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

    forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    652
    Overclock it to the max and put a ice pack on the card LOL

  9. #9
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    even if she got a geforce2mx pci, her cpu would bottleneck it badly

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •