Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    BandSaw King gone_fishin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    U.P. Michigan

    Is the SI7 of interest?

    Recently heard of the SI7. What are peoples thoughts on it. With it using SIS chipset and PC1200 RDRAM. Will the DDRII Intel chipset boards be a better choice?
    Here's a photo I found of it.
    P4-1.6A-TH7IIR-512Mb
    @2.53Ghz
    custom high flow watercooled

    New system,
    D920-Intel D975XBX-1Gb ddr2 800
    @4Ghz
    Stock air cooled

    Freedom,

    History does not long entrust the care of freedom to the weak or the timid. - Dwight D. Eisenhower

    .

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    vermont
    Sounds pretty hot for us rdram few who are hooked on the bandwidth drug. Abit is doing this board for all of the faithfull Th7II owners who loved the board. I was supprised to here Abit doing another board with rdram but alas. I don't think anything will touch it on bandwidth also rdram just runs so smooth..
    I will have to get one.............sometime
    ASROCK Z77 EXTREME 6
    3770K 212 EVO
    8 GIGS RAM
    256GB VERTEX 4
    120 GB VERTEX 3
    THOR CASE
    ANTEC 750 W
    LG BLURAY DRIVE

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Arnhem, The Netherlands
    Well, I'm definitely interested!
    I'm waiting for benchmarks and user experiences. Then I'll decide wheter I'll upgrade to this board or switch to DDRII, or even DDR400,, cuz I need an upgrade fast: either my mobo (TH7II-RAID) is instable or my memory is) So either way, I need to buy a new mobo& memory
    But I f I look at the features listed at the Abit forum, it's a pretty cool board.

  4. #4
    Member maxwedge's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CA, USA
    DDR-II is a long way off. See here.
    Abit IP35-Pro and a few others

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Washington DC

    Cool

    By the time DDR-II comes along, the SiS R659 will have already been released.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Arnhem, The Netherlands
    so I guess it will be PC1200 RIMM vs DDR400 then

  7. #7
    BandSaw King gone_fishin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    U.P. Michigan
    Originally posted by Apie!
    so I guess it will be PC1200 RIMM vs DDR400 then
    Default PC1200 overclocked, what will it do versus DDR400 at it's best boost?
    P4-1.6A-TH7IIR-512Mb
    @2.53Ghz
    custom high flow watercooled

    New system,
    D920-Intel D975XBX-1Gb ddr2 800
    @4Ghz
    Stock air cooled

    Freedom,

    History does not long entrust the care of freedom to the weak or the timid. - Dwight D. Eisenhower

    .

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Washington DC
    RDRAM's future is looking pretty optimistic.

    http://www.ebnonline.com/showArticle...icleID=6512278

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    w00t, go rambus!!!! the only way to fly!

  10. #10
    Member Diablo21ST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Murphy, Dallas.
    i dont know what Abit thinking!!! Place the F.connector way down to bottom ??? It taking place of font panel control. Does it good to sit right there?

  11. #11
    Member maxwedge's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CA, USA
    I don't see any problem with the floppy connector placement, you just fold the ribbon away from the board. But what I'm worried about is the cpu socket placement in relation to the heatsink bracket. It means the heatsink contact patch needs to be 1/2" wider! Maybe it won't make so much differance in temps if the cpu corners are exposed?
    Abit IP35-Pro and a few others

  12. #12
    Member Diablo21ST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Murphy, Dallas.
    Originally posted by maxwedge
    But what I'm worried about is the cpu socket placement in relation to the heatsink bracket. It means the heatsink contact patch needs to be 1/2" wider! Maybe it won't make so much differance in temps if the cpu corners are exposed?
    Do you think that is be ok for most watter block?
    Lok weir

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •