Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member cozmo_d's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Planet X

    Who makes a good Hub ???

    Hey all..... My Network 5port hub is messed up & I need a new one its a linksys... its only 3 years old or so but its definataly going south


    Who makes the fastest Quality Hub/Nic's ???

    Im gona rebuild it all my nic's are over 3 years old have they improved over the years ?? whats the fastest Nic ?

    •Abit ip35pro•e3110•9x408•3671Mhz•
    •corsair pc2 6400 5.5.5.18•1.8v•400mhz•
    •evga Gtx 560Ti 823/1002/1645•
    •wd raptor 2x75gig raid0•wd raptor 150gig•
    •seagate 2x80gig sata 7200.7•
    •nec dvd burner•Pioneer dvr116dbk•
    •24"Acer lcd •os:/>w7pro•
    •Thermalright Ultima90•
    •Audigy 2 zs platinum•

    Heat

  2. #2
    Member AMD'er's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    if you are going to go linksys, then I would go with a linksys hub...nothing against other companies but I personally like to keep everything the same...I personally think it works better or it could just be a mental thing...

    I have only used Linksys so I can't speak on others...but I don't have the money to go for Cisco products but if I did thats what I would have
    No Rig Must Build New Still Waiting to Build A New One

    R.I.P (2002-2006) to the following Machine!!!
    P4 2.6C @ 3.32
    IC7G
    512 HyperX 3500
    ATI 9800 Pro
    Words of Wisdom:
    A Wise Man Once Said..."I PITTY DA FOOL"

  3. #3
    Member FlypSyde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Southern California
    Don't get a hub, get a switch. Price is about the same and a switch is both faster and scales better. No need to get new nics if they are 10/100 already. Linksys is a good brand, but there is little difference between the different companies that manufacture these small scale passive switches. You'll find more differences (as far as functionality, support, and bugs) among the different manufacturers routers and other active equipment. I would find the cheapest name brand switch and go with that.
    It's not so much about knowing all the answers, as it is about knowing where to get them.

  4. #4
    Member moorcito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Like FlypSyde said, there is little difference between the different companies. I have 3Com, D-Link, and Linksys switches and hubs, and they all work the same way. Hub/Switch technology is stable and has been around for years, so there isn't much concern for bugs, or other hardware problems.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Best hubs/nic's? Cisco.

    Best value for money? Realtek nic's and the cheapest hubs you can find. You can find drivers for any realtek nic, just because they are so cheap. And with hubs, well, there really is no way to screw up a hub. If you go cisco, then you'll get loads of nifty features, but you will also pay though the nose for them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •