Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Compressor

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002

    Question Compressor

    How would you rate this compressor ppl: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ategory=11768. I am thinking about getting this since i live in the area. What kind of performance would i see with this on a direct die system? Could I use r14 or even something like ethelyne or argon with a compressor like this?

  2. #2
    Member nealric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    under the floorboards
    That looks like serious overkill to me.
    Note that it uses 460volt power
    Also note that it is sold *as is* - if it dosent work your SOL

    I suppose if you want ludicris temps thats the way to go

    IMHO your better off getting a normal 1/4-1/2 hp compressor. I guess theres no price on braggin rights tho.
    I own a computer!

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    yeah the only problem with it personally is the power. How the hell do you get a 460 volt line? Anyone have any ideas or is there a way around this? I am going to talk to the guy that is selling this and see if he has perhaps a "lite" version hehe. Anyways anyone have any insight on what this thing could do?

  4. #4
    Member nealric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    under the floorboards
    Its *possible* (but i dont think easy) to chain normal outlets togeather. Where are you located? I know in the us, the outlets for the washer/dryer are 220v- in a country with normally high voltage power maybe they are 460?- just a thought.

    That thing looks to be about 20-30 times what is really needed to cool a computer. It could probably cool an entire computer lab.
    I own a computer!

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Well i am located in phoenix,AZ and i have access to 220 volt lines so maybe i could works something with that. The only reason i am looking at this is i want to be able to use something like argon or r14 without a cascade system. In order to do that I need a compressor that can put out a huge amount of pressure and this looked like a worthy candidate.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bakersfield,CA
    dont even think about that compressor, its WAY too big and you still wouldnt be able to use argon with it anyways. 460v is a TON of power, my dad uses that type of power for running large electric motors, you would not like your power bill if you could get the 460volts. there are cheaper compressors for sale on ebay, all of them are 220v but are a lot cheaper than that.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Yeah good luck getting 3 phase industrial power to run that thing.
    You can not condense low stage refrigerants such as ethane, methane, argon, nitrogen, helium, hydrogen, dueterium, whatever you are trying to use.You need a cascade system, they have low critical points, therefore they will not condense from pressure alone.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    that thing weighs 250 pounds!!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    3 phase power... not availible in homes, only in comercial/industrail places. to bring into a home could cost the thick end of a quarter million dollars

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    So yeah exnay on that. How about something more sane? I was also looking at this and thought it was pretty good: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ategory=11768. What do you guys think about this? Also what kind of refrigerant can i realistically use? What will give me the coldest evap temps with a compressor like the one above?

  11. #11
    Member nealric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    under the floorboards
    Thats a bit more like it- but i have seen good 1/2hp compressors go for under $50 on ebay- the reserve on that one is probalbly over $100 judging on the buy it now price.
    I own a computer!

  12. #12
    Member lclark2074's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Coventry Rhode Island
    the only way to 460 3ph is to by a 3ph 1/3 bigger 220 motor and a transformer. the motor will make funny 3rd faze and the transformer will chang voltage. i hope you can aford elect bill
    abit bx6r2 abit AI7
    512 sd ram pc150 ddr1GB pc4200

    celoron 600 oc 900 intel p4 2.8E
    geforce fx 5200 AGP
    Creative Labs Audigy2
    overclocker seti team member
    Avatar by Über~PhLuBB

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bakersfield,CA
    that one is still way too big, there is no way you would need 40k btus of cooling power just on one computer, now maybe like 20 computers is more like it. It still requires a 220v line and your electic bill will be that of a house AC system.

    look for a compressor with a Btu rating of like 1000 to maybe 10,000. Not that you cant have more but I doubt it would make a difference in temps instead noise and electric bill will go up. Im looking for a 3000 btu one myself.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Yes a bigger compressor will make a differance in temps.If it can pull a nice vacuum that is.It will be noisy and suck alot of juice though.

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Yeah i found this decent, new 1/2 hp compressor that i might get. Seems like a good deal for 25$ plus its plenty powerful for perhaps a cpu and water chiller (ala bowman's current project).

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bakersfield,CA
    yeah a 1/2hp would be perfect for waterchilling or going direct die, I wish I had one

  17. #17
    hey guys,

    I got one that says ph 1 , and 140 btu not enough right?

    does it matter if is from an fridge or airconditioner?
    Last edited by nunez1980; 02-11-03 at 10:53 AM.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Yeah 140btu is extremely low.PH 1 is a power rating, 1 phase power(regular house power).
    What was it from?Most refrigerators(real refrigerators, not mini fridges) have enough power.

  19. #19
    mini fridge

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bakersfield,CA
    rofl

    140btu has to be some kind of record.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •