View Poll Results: have you successfully converted a Radeon 9500 non-pro card into a Radeon 9700

Voters
132. You may not vote on this poll
  • The mod was successful and ran *at least* 3 OpenGL applications and also *at least* 3 DirectX applications (DirectX 9 demos and ATI demos do *NOT* count. You can however, count 3dmark2001 as one of the DirectX applications) and found no artifacts of any kind, no matter how minor, ANYWHERE.

    73 55.30%
  • The mod was successful and ran *at least* 3 OpenGL applications and also *at least* 3 DirectX applications (DirectX 9 demos and ATI demos do *NOT* count. You can however, count 3dmark2001 as one of the DirectX applications) and found some minor or major artifacts (the nature of the artifacts don't matter. Checkerboards, small dots, ANYTHING counts).

    45 34.09%
  • The mod was NOT successful. I could not convert my Radeon 9500 into a 9700 (as in my fill rates didn't go up and I got no fps increase in any game or test).

    14 10.61%
Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 102
  1. #1
    UnseenModerator UnseenMenace's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001

    ATI Radeon Modification Poll

    Requested by Black_Paladin

    This is a poll to figure out:

    1- How many people in this forum were able to successfully convert their Radeon 9500 non-pro cards into Radeon 9700 cards by either using the soldering method (hard-mod), or the driver patching method (soft-mod). On the soft-mod side, there are 2 methods. One is using W1zzard's patched drivers and the other is using the RivaTuner script made my Unwinder. All of these methods count for the purposes of this poll. Keep in mind that using the W1zzard's patched drivers don't always make your card show up as a Radeon 9700 under display properties. If you are using W1zzard's patched drivers for the mod, check the fill rate tests in 3dmark2001 to find out if the mod was successful or not. If your fill rates about doubled, then the mod was successfull. If not, then the mod was not successfull.

    2- How many people who have successfully converted their Radeon 9500 non-pro cards into Radeon 9700 cards got no artifacts whatsoever after the mod.

    To figure this out, I will list the choices you can pick below. BEFORE CHOOSING AN OPTION PLEASE AND *PLEASE* READ THE FOLLOWING FIRST:

    This post is meant to give us as reliable results as possible. Considering the fact that we are not conducting this survey in a lab environment, try to be as honest and detailed as possible. If you were having problems with your computer before trying out this mod and did not succeed with the mod, if at all possible, try to make a fresh install of your operating system and then try again. We would like to eliminate all outside factors that could figure into the results. Such factors include but are not limited to: Corrupted registry settings and operating system files on your computer, CPU overclocking causing instability making it look like the problem is with the "9500 to 9700 mod" whereas it's actually not, etc... You get the idea. IDEALLY, we would like you to format your primary partition where your OS resides (normally the C: drive) and reinstall your OS before trying out the mod and posting your results.

    2- OVERCLOCKING DOES *NOT* FIGURE INTO THIS POLL. If you have overclocked your card after the mod and got artifacts, take your card back to STOCK speed and then test again. Ony then, depending on your results, choose the appropiate option. Overclocking can skew the results *severely* here because especially by overclocking the memory, at some point, if you push the card too much, you WILL get artifacts.

    3- If you are unsure of which option to pick, just make a post stating what you are unsure about and Black_Paladin who requested this poll, will help figure it out with you which one will be the best possible option to pick depending on your situation.
    one M15x is never enough

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NL
    first one with choice 1

    BlackPaladin: good text.. and relatively short too

    The card.. not running it at the moment because the cooling is messed up bad.
    (Fixxed cooling with a crystal orb.. good for 350+mhz)

    Clean install to get it working.
    Ati demos, 3dm2k1, 2k3, Q3, Q2, SoF2, C&C: RA2, NFS3, NFS6.
    Get grey dots in 3dm2k1 Nature and ati cardemo when the core gets to high/hot.

    Connect 3D, rev3 (i think)
    gpu info: r300, 215r8abga13f, g28252.1, 0243aa, taiwan
    Last edited by D2DM; 04-10-03 at 01:57 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    GR, MI
    How important is it to keep the memory cool on these cards? I have a water-cooled system and would be replacing the stock stuff with the dd waterblock..assuming it fits..(geforce 2/3 model)

    Intel P4 3.0e@3.6ghz 1.525vcore | Abit AI7@240fsb | Eheim1250>Hcore>Maze3 | 120GB Maxtor Sata Raid | Nvidia 6800 Ultra 440/1150 Kingmax 512x4 | 2-3-3-6 3:2 w/3.2v ctiaw: 5600

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    mine is running fine i upgraded the drivers to the newer one b4 it use to show as a 9700 but the newer ones will show it as a 9500 since im using wizards soft mod with riva tuner plus i also used the script provided in the rivatuner site have no issues card works great b4 i couldnt push 12k now im at almost 16k with the old 3d mark well my scores are at the bottom of my sig

  5. #5
    Member Black_Paladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Boise, ID
    I'm glad that some people are finally posting and voting here. There have only been 5 votes so far thought and one of them is my vote, LOL. Come on people, vote!! I KNOW that there are more than 5 people here in this forum that tried the mod on their Radeon 9500's.

    BlackPaladin: good text.. and relatively short too
    Touche... I know that I'm not very good at being brief but I try to be detailed not to cause misunderstandings.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Georgia
    Mod technically worked, i got the performance of a 9700. but i've got checkerboards EVERYWHERE. even in windows. Nothing I've tried has helped (formatting, disabling hyperz, heirchicalz, zmask, zbuffer, antialiasing, overclocking, fast writes).

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Richmond virginia
    Thanks BP and UM! The idea for this poll came from a discussion BP and I were having about the fact the success rate for the mod still seemed to be a bit of a mystery. My card has been absolutley artifact free and I'm quite pleased this bit of luck came into my otherwise drab existence

    Tell everybody at other boards about this poll! We must have the data! We MUST HAVE IT!

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003

    500 MHz core

    $163 Sapphire 128mb 9500np modded to 9700, 1-2 conductive silver connected, volt-modded + watercooling + peltier + cold water, no phase cooling.

    TBred @ 2058, mobo, 512mb RAM, 2 hard drives, card & the peltier (the peltier is 226watts @ 16.x volts, running @ 12.x volts), all running on an enermax model 651 PSU, 12/5 volt rails modded.

    With a bit more of finesse tweaking, i got 500 stable. My goal was to reach 500 but never thought i would. There are a few things i can do to take it to 500+ but i don't want to destroy the card. Well, i can't wait to get my hands on the R350 core.

    3dmark2001se @ 500/594, http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5984955

    3dmark03 @ 500/594, 5542 marks, TBred @ 2058 MHz

    If anybody wonders about artifacts @ 500, no graphical errors.

    Highest 3dmark2001se fillrate test @ 580.5/620.5,

    2035.6 single/ 4140.2 multi

    I can actually run windows/2D @ 600.75/620.5, Radeonator2.0 is limiting further oc, LOL!

    This core is nuts.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Richmond virginia
    OK, I posted at www.sysopt.com, [H]Forum, and at www.rage3d.com. I explained our quest and linked to the poll. Now the rest of you guys get out there and beat the bushes! We MUST have the data!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. #10
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Well I got this Connect3D card with 3.6 mem just software mod. Everything is working like a charm... Only thing is that I can't o/c my mem higher than 303 Core is going up to 371 perhaps even higher but I won't try it without watercooling...
    My components get extremly hot

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Richmond virginia
    Your mem OC is pretty good for a 9700 - the 9700 pros have better RAM. I only get 294 stable in 3d on my Sapphire mod with the 3.3 Infinion chips.

  12. #12
    I was successful with both wizard and rivatuner softmods

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    okinawa, japan
    common more people fneed to vote!!, btw i just go my highest 3dmark last night, 14597 @ 357core(im have problem with cooling, i could get to 371 before) and 303mem, ive got my ramsinks on but no volt mod for the mem yet,
    ow yah, i tried the hard mod 3 times but no success but the riva softmod works great, and i have infineon ram

  14. #14
    Member Black_Paladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Boise, ID
    OK, I posted at www.sysopt.com, [H]Forum, and at www.rage3d.com. I explained our quest and linked to the poll. Now the rest of you guys get out there and beat the bushes! We MUST have the data!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thank you very much for doing this, Alex!! This is really a nice service to this poll. I'm grateful.
    And yes, we MUST have the data, NO MATTER THE COST!!!

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Richmond virginia
    bump

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    South Dakota
    softmodded and works great (guru3d mod)
    Intel 2600k @ 4.3
    Asus P67 Pro Mobo
    16GB GSKILL Ripjaws 1600mhz memory
    EVGA Geforce GTX 470
    128GB Crucial SSD
    Cooler master HAF 932 Case
    Folding User Stats

  17. #17
    Member OC Noob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    Great idea, this should help people get an idea of the chance they are or aren't taking when buying a 9500 to mod
    Hail to the King:
    Opteron 165 w/ DFI Ultra-D w/ BBA 1900XT 512 mb GSkill PC4200 1 GB x 2
    74 gb WD Raptor x 2 Raid 0 MSI (ATI550) Tuner
    w/ Windows XP Media Center Edition & OCZ Powerstream 520
    DD TDX H2O block w/ Maze4 GPA block DD D4 pump
    single 120mm Fan Heater core w/ shroud In Lian-Li fish tank window case

    RIP (Rest In Pieces):
    P4 3.0 ghz @ 3.75 ghz Aerocool HT-101 IC7-G
    Radeon 9800 Pro 430 W Antec True Power

  18. #18
    Registered Johnny Mo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    My conversion worked great.

    Newegg Sapphire nonpro 128mb 9500 OEM. Was $158.

    351core/300 memory using soft9700 scripts from RivaTuner.

    No artifacts whatsoever.

    Johnny Mo

  19. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CA
    Bought a Sapphire 9500 np from Bananapc.com, its the version with infineon 3.3ns memory. Memory overclocks terribly (that is until a way to volt mod the infineon is put into use) core reaches at least 360 if not more. The software 9700 conversion was successful.

  20. #20
    Member Black_Paladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Bought a Sapphire 9500 np from Bananapc.com, its the version with infineon 3.3ns memory. Memory overclocks terribly (that is until a way to volt mod the infineon is put into use) core reaches at least 360 if not more. The software 9700 conversion was successful.
    It is very nice to hear that your card overclocks well EG|Fox as 360 mhz is a pretty decent overclock. For the purposes of voting for this poll however, we don't figure overclocking into the equation. Please let us know if you have run at least 3 OpenGl and DirectX applications to test the card for artifacts while it is not overclocked and then please vote. Your vote will be appreciated. Have fun.

    Note: I know that 3.3ns Infineon memory does not overclock very well above 300mhz.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •