Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member BomberBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    TN

    YAY my USB 2.0 isn't working!

    Ok, I had 2/4 USB ports hooked up to the front ports on my case. They stopped working tonight and I was thinking that it was the front of the case or only those 2 ports. Well I put my 2 1.1 ports to the front of the case and moved the 2.0 to the back. The front case ports worked. Then I noticed my mouse wasn't working! (hooked up to 2.0) Then I switched it to the other 2.0 port and it still didnt work I reinstalled the new Via 4in1s and yes I checked the bios to make sure the 2.0 chip was enabled.

    If you didn't get that, my 4 USB 2.0 ports aren't working. I still have my 4 USB 1.1 ports which only 2 are being used. If it turns out to a RMA, I wont do it because I already went through the 3-4 weeks of waiting before...

    Anyone have any ideas?
    Oh yeah GA-7VRXP 1.1 w/ AGP fix M12 bios.

  2. #2
    Member cwb27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Try removing the driver then reinstalling it again, or have you given that a shot already?

  3. #3
    Member BomberBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    TN
    I already tried that with the Via 4 in 1s

  4. #4
    Member Hood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Try deleting from device manager and then rebooting and getting them detected by windows again.
    Hood

  5. #5
    Member cwb27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Originally posted by Hood
    Try deleting from device manager and then rebooting and getting them detected by windows again.
    Hood
    What I meant.

  6. #6
    Member Hood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Not what you said though LOL
    Hood

  7. #7
    Member BomberBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    TN
    haha ok, I'll try that in a few minutes
    Thanks.

    Also... off topic but how do you forcefully delete a file that windows wont let you delete (even in safe mode) because *it's being used by another program*?

    Edit: ok that was easy enough... working fine now.
    Last edited by BomberBear; 02-20-03 at 11:21 PM.

  8. #8
    Member Hood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    BomberBear
    I would think that you would have to use the Ctrl Alt Del to get the processes that are running and then shutdown the one that is causing the prob, then delete the file.
    Hood

  9. #9
    Member BomberBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    TN
    I even booted up in safe mode to see, but that didn't help... what's safe to close? everything but explorer?

  10. #10
    Member Hood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Not 100% sure. depends on OS. If you can find what the file is for (what prog) then you should be able to work out which process is using it.
    Hood

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •