Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26
  1. #1
    Member speedbird2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Just moved to kentucky from Crawley West sussex UK

    Will This fan controller from newegg be ok?

    I want to put this controller link below on just my cpu fan a vantec tornado on a slk800 will this work ok?
    Malc.
    http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...82E16811999112

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    i went to thermaltake's site but could not find any info on the power rating that unit has. i suppose it would work but if it cannot handle the fan wattage you might run into problems. the tornado is rated at 9.1 watts!

  3. #3
    Member speedbird2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Just moved to kentucky from Crawley West sussex UK
    Well if it can't handle the watts will the controller blow and fan?
    Malc.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    i guess it's like a circuit. might overload and burn or short. will probably work but how long is another story. why don't you just get one of these.

    http://www.pcmods.com/details.asp?ProdID=4

  5. #5
    Member speedbird2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Just moved to kentucky from Crawley West sussex UK
    I do not want to spend that much for now. If the controller im going to buy works for a while i can get a better one in a few months. Thanks for finding that link.
    Malc.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    cool enough, and not a problem. i am going to the TT's site again to see what if anything, i can find.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    nothing.

  8. #8
    Member speedbird2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Just moved to kentucky from Crawley West sussex UK
    Umm well im buying so much at once at the mo that $25 is not in my budget or i do not get a slk 800.
    I will try the tt controller and if it breaks next month get the real deal. Thanks again for checking the site. On the above link did you read the newegg review on the item as some folks said what fan they used i know nothing about them.
    Malc.

  9. #9
    Why not just save ur money and get the pcmods controller in a few weeks and have $10 extra in ur pocket?
    n/a

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Originally posted by speedbird2007
    Umm well im buying so much at once at the mo that $25 is not in my budget or i do not get a slk 800.
    I will try the tt controller and if it breaks next month get the real deal. Thanks again for checking the site. On the above link did you read the newegg review on the item as some folks said what fan they used i know nothing about them.
    Malc.
    no, but i found this.

    " Thermaltake Fan speed RPM switch @ I'm Not A Geek
    In their ever-expanding line-up of thermal solution products is the Thermaltake Fan Speed H.M.L RPM Setting Cable, P/N: A1268. Although not Thermaltake's most advanced offering, its simplicity may be its strongest selling point, and could provide a quick fix for people looking to control a fan's speed without buying/building a full-blown fan bus."

  11. #11
    Member speedbird2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Just moved to kentucky from Crawley West sussex UK
    Well im going to try the crap thing first and see how i go but thanks again for checking that so much.
    Im going with the 92mm with slk 800 im almost sure now.
    Malc.

  12. #12
    Member speedbird2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Just moved to kentucky from Crawley West sussex UK
    I have one more for rusty
    The above fan speed controller the thermaltake one im not sure if i will be able to connect it to a vantec tornado as it wants a 3 pin plugged into it. The fan would use a 4 pin to psu so will i have to cut off the 4pin and wire it on the 3?
    Malc.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    let me look at the pic, please hold the line.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    that pic from thermaltake's site shows a 3 pin and 4 pin connector. this is my mind says you can use either or.
    did you get it yet?

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    or you could get one of these.

    http://2cooltek.safeshopper.com/58/46.htm?823

  16. #16
    Member speedbird2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Just moved to kentucky from Crawley West sussex UK
    I have a link i want you to see mate
    http://www.bestbyte.net/Product.cfm?...yID=6&Keyword=

    The thing is it has a four pin to the power and then it has a 3 pin for fan to plug into. The three pin on fan is only yellow signal so i can just plug that right into the cpu fan socket.
    Then cut the 4 pin power plug off cut the 3 pin from the controller and connect it up.
    The link you showed would work as well i wonder if newegg has those.
    It is my birthday on friday and i get paid some im shopping at newegg can't wait. I have loads to get.
    2100 cpuxp
    more ram
    slk800
    vantc fan
    maybe a GF4 TI
    Thanks for all your help witth this i know im a pain in the neck. I have had loads of help where to buy stuff online and adviceas i did not know anywhere when i first moved to usa which made me buy a kds monitor from walmart which has gone wrong already lol.
    Malc.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    you are safe then dude. WHATEVER you do, just don't try to plug that thing into a mobo header. your s--t will fry the header. tornados draw way too much current. i have 4 of them in my case, i know.
    let me know how it goes when you gather all your parts and throw them together.

  18. #18
    Member speedbird2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Just moved to kentucky from Crawley West sussex UK
    Cheers mate i will do I may get a proper fan controller if i have enough cash left over anyway.
    Rust do you think a GF3 ti 4200 128ram be ok?
    As then i could get a good fan controller a GF4 TI4200 128mb will cost me $145 you see.
    Is the GF4 much better really mate what you think?
    Malc.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    honest mate, i don't know jack about video cards but i do know that 128mb is well....128mb. nice addition to whatever ram scenario you have going on.
    trust me, you won't regret getting a good fan controller. remember this: look for a controller that is flexible where wattage is concerned. tornados draw 9.1 watts of current. if the channel on the controller is lower than that of your fan you might run into problems. it might work but for how long is a different story. you know what i am sayin?

  20. #20
    Member speedbird2007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Just moved to kentucky from Crawley West sussex UK
    Rusty,

    Ok the below link is what im thinking of getting im just wondering if it will fit in my case ok. Malc.

    Fan controller link
    http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...iption=RheoBus

    my case.

    http://www.newegg.com/app/Showimage....129-115-12.jpg

    This is a antec 1080+ case.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •