Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Bon3thugz43v3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Sunshine State
    Posts
    1,782

    Unhappy Ahh, server fan died, plz help.

    Well, I decided to open up my server that just runs my internet firewall for me, because it sounded a little to quiet and my guess was right that the fan had died. It must have been running like this for weeks, I never really got to it. Luckily, its only a pentium 2 266 and it still had a heatsink on it. But the fan just doesnt spin anymore, no more juice, no more kick, ect.

    I guess my first question is, when I pulled the heatsink off, their wasnt any "die" or "heatspreader" on this chip, and their wasnt any type of thermal compund on the heatsink or the chip. I decided to just put some AS3 on the heatsink rub it in, then wipe it off. Was this a bad idea, or will this help the fanless p2.

    My second question is, where do I get a replacement HS/F for this thing. Its Socket 7. I tried using a Socket A heatsink, but the board has capacitators to close to the socket. Is a fan really needed anyways? I have a 39 CFM sunon intake in the front and thats it for fans. But, in old motherboards, as you know, the cpu was usually down by the front intake, so the sunon does put some flow over the heatsink which I figured would be good.

    Also, I dont think I have ever seen a computer so dusty. I mean this thing was like.....I cant really describe it, but when I opened the side, dust came flying out, the power supply looked like it had no intake / outake ventilation, the heatsink and the broken fan were totally covered in dust balls ( Probably the reason the fan died, because the moter burnt out), and everything in the slots was just grey with dust.

    So two main things. Was putting AS3 inbetween the heatsink and the cpu a good idea? And, does anyone know where I can get a replacement fan for this p2 SOCKET 7. BTW, the board is AOPEN if that helps to tell you how old this thing is.

    Thanks for everyones help, i wub u all!
    i7-4770k @ 4.2Ghz
    16GB G.Skill DDR3 2666
    Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
    MSI N770 TF 2GD5/OC
    Corsair HX750 PSU
    Corsair H100i
    Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD

    My Heatware

  2. #2
    Member NiTrO bOiE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    2,568
    Someone on ebay might have a socket 7 heatsink for ya. Pentium 2's will be fine with passive cooling. My fan quit working on my P2 333 and it was in a sunroom. Didn't fry, just ran hot.
    CPU: AMD 64 3000+ DTR @ 2750
    MB:
    DFI Lanparty UT 250GB

    Memory: 2x 1GB G.Skill PC3200

    Video:
    Radeon X800XT-PE w/ Maze 4 GPU

    Hard Drives:
    36GB Raptor (Main) 160GB Hitachi (Storage)

    Optical Storage:
    44x CD, 8x DVD-RW

    Sound:
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Case & Power: Black Chieftec FT w/ Window, Antec TP 430
    Watercooled WW, Pro Core (2) 120mm Deltas, Hydor L20
    Windows XP Professional x64 Edition

  3. #3
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    1,900
    Ok, I think what you have is a Socket 370 cpu. A heatsink is needed, but you don't need one with an extremely fast fan. The cheapest Socket A heatsink for $9.99 ought to be more than enough.

    AS3 is a good idea, don't rub it all off, just spread a thin layer.

    I have seen passively cooled PIII 500's but they had ducting to the powersupply. It was in a Gateway. Good luck.
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  4. #4
    Bon3thugz43v3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Sunshine State
    Posts
    1,782
    Alright, well I guess the 80 MM fan from Sunon pushing 39 cfm at the bottom front bezel (which is where the cpu is located in this old thing) will be enough then. Thanks guys, just wanted to be reassured.
    i7-4770k @ 4.2Ghz
    16GB G.Skill DDR3 2666
    Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
    MSI N770 TF 2GD5/OC
    Corsair HX750 PSU
    Corsair H100i
    Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD

    My Heatware

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    944
    well if it has been running for that for weeks and you haven't had any problems.. I wouldn't spend cash on it..

    Or then just put on a new fan there.. why do you have to get a new heatsink anyways? just get a new fan?

  6. #6
    Bon3thugz43v3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Sunshine State
    Posts
    1,782
    ITs hard to find 40 mm fans that screw into this heatsink... I am serious it looks like a geforce 2 stock cooler. The ULTRA version.
    i7-4770k @ 4.2Ghz
    16GB G.Skill DDR3 2666
    Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
    MSI N770 TF 2GD5/OC
    Corsair HX750 PSU
    Corsair H100i
    Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD

    My Heatware

  7. #7
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    1,900
    I'd take the fan off of the heatsink to give it a little better cooling(assuming you haven't already done this).
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  8. #8
    Member CrashOveride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    5,785
    )did you try to get allt he dust out from around the fan? i have seen 2 computers where the dust in teh HS/fan actualyl stopped the fan and all ineeded to do was clean out the dust and it worked... if the fan is acutaly dead you can prolly just leave it w/ the cooler on there... my PII 233 ran for about a month before i was looking around in there for fun and saw it dead... so i twistytied on a 50mm fan over the other one and it is still running for my mom just fine...
    (oh and the AS3 was prolly a good idea since that is what AS3 is for
    .................................................. ......................Just too busy with life
    ...........................................Team.32.Mentor........................................RED.BELT.Ubercloxx0r
    ..............................You.should.always.keep.an.open.mind.help.can.be.found.in.the.most.unlikly.places.
    .....AIUHB0252@2300mhz.SP-97~Abit.NF7-S~512.RAM@fast.timings~9700Pro.w/.copper.HSF.~.2.monitors
    .................................................. ..Windows XP because I have conditions
    ....Fold.for.[OC]FoldingNinjas!!!....You .would.be.amazed.at.what.a.group.of.intelegent.peo ple.can.overlook
    ...............................................All.blanket.statments.are.false|Nothing.is.absoloute.
    ............................Don't.Let.ThermalTake.Your.Money~|~Are.You.Into.Th at.Hacky.Stuff?
    AKA:supaiku
    .................................................. ........Can.you.find.the.ninja.in.my.avatar?!?!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    944
    I reckon just about any 40 mm fan would do? Just remove the old one and put a new one there in its place? or is this some funky design where you can't remove the fan?

  10. #10
    on my celery 500, i just have a volcano 6cu+ hs on it, no fan, i did use as3 and the cpu has a heat spreader, i use it as my file server and seti, no probs, but my psu is right next to the hs and the psu has a fan in it so the chip is sort of being cooler by the fan, as long as youre not having problems, i wouldnt go out an buy another fan

  11. #11
    Bon3thugz43v3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Sunshine State
    Posts
    1,782
    Well I guess after puting a layer of AS3 on the cpu very thin, it decided to fry, so its gone now, R.I.P little guy. So, now I need to get a new cpu, but I think im just gonna get a duron and a little stick of ram to throw in there.
    EDIT : IT CAME BACK TO LIFE!!!!!!!
    Last edited by Bon3thugz43v3r; 03-03-03 at 05:56 PM.
    i7-4770k @ 4.2Ghz
    16GB G.Skill DDR3 2666
    Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
    MSI N770 TF 2GD5/OC
    Corsair HX750 PSU
    Corsair H100i
    Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD

    My Heatware

  12. #12
    Miralcos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sheridan, Arkansas
    Posts
    600
    IT'S A MIRACLE!!!!!

    You might try asking around some people you know and see if they have an old p2 laying around that doesn't get used. They might give you the heatsink and fan off of it. A guy at work gave me one and I just keep those little things like heatsinks and old ram laying around incase someone else I know needs a part.
    PLEASE FOLD FOR TEAM32
    Heatware

  13. #13
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    1,900
    Awesome!!! Better yet, take one of those case fans and figure out a way to screw it onto the existing heatsink!!!
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  14. #14
    Angry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, WV
    Posts
    3,010
    Im curious, what does a pentium 2 socket 7 look like, Ive never heard of a p2 socket 7....Only pentium 1's and K6-2's...

    Main Rig.....................Game Server............................................ Media Server..............Untangle................Nvidia Shield
    Core i3 2100 ....... ........Phenom II X4 965 w/CM Hyper 612.............Athlon II X4 620....... Athlon X2 2350-BE....... Android 4.4.2
    MSI P67A-GD65 ..............GA-890GPA-UD3H.....................................Biostar A780L3G...........MSI 785GTM-45..........16gb mSDHC
    16gb Partriot S5................G.Skill 2x2gb 1333.....................................4gb DDR3 1333...........4gb OCZ DDR2 1066
    EVGA GTX 670 ....................XFX 8800gt+Asus 8400gs
    60gb OCZ Summit.................4x250gb WD RE Raid0
    ViewSonic VX2453mh-LED

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Calgary,Alberta
    Posts
    202
    I thought p2's were slot 1 processors. Maybe i'm wrong?

  16. #16
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    1,900
    I think he meant socket 370. Did Intel make Socket 370 Celeron 266's??? (early celerons showed up as pentium 2's in CPUID and the like).
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •